Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MAN First Year Seminar (198)

Kayla Boguski, Angel Gelhar, Melvin Johnson, Breeyawn Lybbert, Tracy Smith Leiker

About this guide

This guide provides an introduction to information evaluation and research - concepts and resources that you may use in your first year seminar course, other university courses, and in life beyond the university! Each page provides guidance and sources that may help you meet the requirements of various assignments.

If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. For other questions about your assignments, consult with your professor.

What's in Search @UW?

Individual Article Databases

​​-  Databases A-Z - A list of all our databases (200+), which you can view by subject area

Search@UW - Search Books, Articles and More

Search@UW or single database search?

The best use of Search@UW is when you need a large number or a variety of resources.  It is also helpful when your research question spans a number of different subjects, making it difficult to choose a single-subject database.

However, not all database content is available through Search@UW.  There will also be many instances in which a single-subject database will have enough content that a user will not need the multiple resources connected to Search@UW.  In these cases, a single database search may be easier and more efficient.