Research Guides: MAN First Year Seminar (198): CHEM 198 Tips

Searching for popular articles

Step 1: To find popular-magazine articles on your topic, use this database:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Step 2: Type your topic into the search box and click "Search." (As you begin typing your terms, the system will provide "pop-up" suggestions of search terms. Feel free to select one of those or just type in your own search.)

The following search terms worked well for your class topics:

flint michigan water crisis

pfas (note: fluoroalkyl compounds may get better search results relating to PFAS)

fast fashion

Step 3: After you get a list of article results, scroll down and look on the left side for the "Source Types" limit. Click on the box for "Magazines."

Step 4: Browse the article titles for one that sounds useful for you. Click the title to see further details about the article, including a brief abstract/summary. To open the full article, click "PDF Full Text" in the upper, left corner, or "HTML Full Text" if a PDF version is not available.