Finding & Using Images, Audio, and Video

The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives. Provided under a CC-BY-NC-ND license. Read guidelines before using.

This collection is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive stock photos shot from our own perspective, featuring disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) across the Pacific Northwest. Provided under a CC-BY license. Read the usage page before using.

Despite the fact that two-thirds of women in the U.S. are plus-size, just two percent of women shown in media are plus-size. The public’s appetite for more diverse imagery is clear. These photos are available for all uses and feature plus-size people.

Beautiful photos of Black and Brown people, for free. For commercial and personal use under a CC0 license. See "About" page for more license information.

Free stock photo for a colorful world. Find free stock photos of people of color.

#WOCinTech chat started as a Twitter chat in June 2015 to provide women of color and non-binary people of color a safe space to connect and discuss issues in the tech industry that are important to them. Find free stock images to use under a CC-BY license. Must include attribution.

This collection of over 60 icons prominently features women in design, technology and leadership positions. From astronaut to president, graphic designer and entrepreneur, and terms like “equal pay” and “networking,” each icon has been donated to the Public Domain, free for anyone to use.

Free stock images for commercial or non-commercial use. All photos on Imagebase.net are free for personal and commercial use. There is no need to credit the author, however it is always appreciated when done. See about us page for more information.

"Free images for creatives, by creatives." Contains free stock photos for commercial or non-commercial use. See the about page for more information.

Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Pexels license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages. See the about page for more information on the photo license.

"Free, copyright-friendly images for education." Images may be used for non-commercial purposes only. See the about page for more information.

A combination free and for purchase stock images for commercial or non-commercial use. See the FAQ page for more information.

Free HD public domain photos. Great for locating stock images. See the license page for more information on licensing.

Video, music, and images all openly licenced or in the public domain.

Click on Filters, where you can select Show Only: Public Domain

Look for the Open Access icon below an image to determine if you can use it.

Northeastern Wisconsin is home to one of the country's largest concentrations of Belgians. The largest wave of immigration of Walloon-speaking Belgians occured in the 1850s. This collection focuses primarily on rural Walloon settlement and contains oral history tapes, photographs, manuscripts, and government records.

The History of UW-Green Bay Collection includes 400 images that represent a cross-section of this campus’s history and evolution. They document the campus selection site, construction of all campus buildings, student life, academic activities, political activities, visitors of note, commencement ceremonies, and other campus traditions.

Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. For personal non-commercial use only.

Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI). According to the Library of Congress: "Most photographs in this collection are considered to be in the public domain; however, labels on a few images indicate that they may be restricted. Privacy and publicity rights may also apply." More information is at the LoC website: http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/res/071_fsab.html

Over one million public domain images from publications from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Largely unorganized.

Over 12 million historic images from out-of-copyright books posted by the Internet Archive. Search by tag or browse.

From Planet Labs, a non-governmental satellite image company. Released under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Find thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects. Scientific and medical images from medieval to early modern. "The images are being released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence."

The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items - photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more - from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. The copyright status of items in the DPLA varies. Many items are in the public domain. For individual rights information about an item, please check the Rights field in the metadata or follow the link to the digital object on the content provider’s website for more information.

Over 58 million "artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe." Most with Creative Commons licenses. Check the "rights statement" on each image for copyright information.

The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Images may be copyrighted . See "Getty Open Content Images" under the "Public Domain Image Collections" menu to search only public domain images.

NYPL Digital Collections provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections. Some of the images in the Digital Gallery may be subject to third party rights such as copyright and/or rights of privacy/publicity. Check the "Show Only Public Domain" box when searching to find freely available media. Before using any of these images please review the Library's Terms and Conditions.

Millions of CC0 (public domain) images "from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."

Non-copyrighted photo, audio, and video of NASA space flights, astronomy, and aeronautics.

Historical photos focusing on "ships, aviation, places, wars/events, activities, and significant individuals associated with naval history." Public domain unless otherwise noted.

Public domain images, unless otherwise indicated. Please include attribution to [photographer's name], USDA Agricultural Research Service.

See "Rights and Access" on each image to check copyright restrictions.

Works produced by the government are in the public domain. Please credit NOAA and the photographer.

Most images are public domain; see usage statement to find public domain identification. Images in this library may not represent the most current medical practices.

Find government photos and images by topic. Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. Check license before using.

Public domain unless otherwise indicated. Check license before using.

Science, environmental, land use, etc. multimedia from United States Geological Survey. Public domain unless otherwise indicated. Check license before using.

This webpage provides links to public domain digital images of many of those sites, including national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites and related areas. All images posted in this archive are free, and may be used without a copyright release from the National Park Service, but must not be used to imply NPS endorsement without permission.