Skip to main content

DJS 204: Freedom & Social Control

Andrew Austin

About this guide

This guide will help you locate sources for your Institutional Analysis paper. For your paper, you must include a minimum of four "academic and scholarly social scientific resources" (e.g., peer-reviewed journal articles, scholarly books from a university press).

If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab above. For other questions about your assignment, consult with your professor.

Search@UW offers an interdisciplinary search for books and articles. Search for articles in a specific subject area by choosing a database from the list below.

Not all sources found on your search results list will be scholarly. See the Identifying Scholarly Sources tab above for help determining if your book or article is scholarly.

Library Databases - Search for Articles

These databases are good places to start for articles based in the social sciences. Select a subject area above for other databases that may be useful for your topic. 

Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences rather than natural or applied sciences.

Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences.

Click the scholarly/peer-reviewed check box or link to eliminate the many non-scholarly sources found in these databases from your results list.

Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences rather than hard sciences or medicine.

If the area of your critique does not match the subjects listed above, check our Databases by Subject page to find a database focused on your area. If you are having trouble selecting a database, Ask a Librarian

Or try one of the multidisciplinary databases listed below. Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences.

Ask a Librarian

By chat:
Sorry, we are currently offline.
By email:
refdesk@uwgb.edu
By phone:
920-465-2303

Library Databases Tip: Find It Button

Tip: If you see a Find It! button like the one below, click on it to connect to the full text.
Find It! @ UW-Green Bay

If the article is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Click on the We can get it for you for free! (ILL & ILLiad) link to place request