Skip to main content

What is Search@UW?

About this guide

This guide will help you help you understand what sources can be found through Search@UW and the most effective ways to find them. Use the navigation menu to choose what you want to know. 

If you need more help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. 

Referred to as a "discovery layer," Search@UW pulls content from existing resources into one convenient search interface.

What's in Search@UW?

  • Books, videos, sound recordings, scores, and more from UWGB
  • Books, videos, sound recordings, scores, and more from UW System libraries
  • Articles and more from most of the UWGB databases
  • Course reserves at UWGB
  • Government documents
  • Archival materials
  • Digital collections such as the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections and Minds@UW

When to Use Search@UW

  • If you want to find books and articles using one search.
  • If you want to do a broad, multidisciplinary search.
  • If you want to use a variety of information sources.
  • If you need books or media that UWGB owns.
  • If you need books or media that another UW System library owns.

When NOT to Use Search@UW

  • If you want to do a more focused search for articles. Choose one of the Databases on the library website instead.
  • If you need to use a database geared towards a particular subject area. Choose one of the Databases on the library website instead.
  • If you need a book that is not owned by UWGB or another UW System Library. Use WorldCat instead.

What's in Search@UW?

What’s in Search@UW

Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more. Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW. Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections. Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!