About this guide
This guide will help you locate sources for your Institutional Analysis paper. For your paper, you must include a minimum of four "academic and scholarly social scientific resources" (e.g., peer-reviewed journal articles, scholarly books from a university press).
If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab above. For other questions about your assignment, consult with your professor.
Search@UW offers an interdisciplinary search for books and articles. Search for articles in a specific subject area by choosing a database from the list below.
Not all sources found on your search results list will be scholarly. See the Identifying Scholarly Sources tab above for help determining if your book or article is scholarly.
Library Databases - Search for Articles
These databases are good places to start for articles based in the social sciences. Select a subject area above for other databases that may be useful for your topic.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include anthropology, sociology, urban studies, business and communication, criminology, penology, law, nursing, rehabilitation, and information and library sciences. Find scholarly & trade articles, reviews, conference procedings, and books & book chapters. - Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Find scholarly and trade journals, articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences rather than natural or applied sciences.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include environmental science, pollution, sustainable energy, and green building practices. Find government and general interest articles and reports.
- Environment Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include agriculture, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management. Find articles, academic and trade journals, book chapters, reviews, and reports.
Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences.
Click the scholarly/peer-reviewed check box or link to eliminate the many non-scholarly sources found in these databases from your results list.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Find articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, and country reports. - One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Find articles, news, company reports, industry reports, videos, and ebooks.
Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences rather than hard sciences or medicine.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include psychology and all specialties. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find articles, academic & trade journals, reviews, and reports.
If the area of your critique does not match the subjects listed above, check our Databases by Subject page to find a database focused on your area. If you are having trouble selecting a database, Ask a Librarian.
Or try one of the multidisciplinary databases listed below. Remember to look for articles based in the social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include humanities, arts, and social sciences. Find academic journal articles & books. - Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Ask a Librarian
Library Databases Tip: Find Full Text Button
Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.
If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.
