In addition to books, Search@UW contains articles, media, and our digital collections. As you can see in the infographic, Search@UW does not contain all of our articles. While it is a great place to start searching for articles, it should not be the only place you look. Try exploring our databases to find more specialized content for your topic.
Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more. Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW. Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections. Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!
A database is a collection of information.
Most often, in library terminology, this means an online collection of articles--scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles.
Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics. Other databases are more specialized and may focus on articles from a particular subject area such as business, history, or psychology.
Listed below are some of our most frequently used databases. However, this is only a fraction of what we have access to. You can see our full list of databases by clicking the database button above. There you can select the subject you are studying, and get recommended databases specifically for that area.