This is the "Home" page of the "Cite Your Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cite Your Sources   Tags: apa, chicago, citation, citing, citing sources, mla  

How to cite your sources in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other formats
Last Updated: Mar 2, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uwgb.edu/CiteYourSource Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide provides links to websites and handouts on how to format citations in popular styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago. The links include examples on how to format citations in bibliographies/works cited lists, and also in the text of your paper.

Quick Tips:

  • If you are unsure of which citation style to use, ask your instructor.
  • As you start to gather sources and write your paper, make sure and save all of your citation information (books, journal articles, etc.) so you have the information handy when it comes time to add in your citations.
  • The UW-Green Bay Writing Center has handouts on how to cite in APA and MLA formats, the two most popular citation styles.
  • Ask for help! Use the Research Help page to connect with a librarian at Cofrin Library.
 

Free Citation Tools

The following tools are helpful for formatting individual citations (a book, a journal article, etc...). However, with all electronic citation tools, you must double-check to ensure accuracy. Consult the appropriate style manual over on the right for explicit instructions.

BibMe - APA 5th, MLA 7th, Chicago 15th, Turabian 7th

Citation Builder - MLA 7th, Chicago 15th, CSE 7th

Citation Machine - APA 6th, MLA 7th, Chicago, Turabian

EasyBib - MLA 7th for free, APA & Chicago for subscribers only

NoodleBib Express - APA, MLA, Chicago

Note: If the citation tools indicate which editions are used, those have been noted above.

 

Citation Management Tools

The following programs help organize citations and format bibliographies and works cited lists.

Zotero

Zotero is a popular citation management program. This free service currently works as an "plug-in" with the popular Firefox web browser. You need to have both Firefox and Zotero downloaded on your computer or laptop. It works with both PC and Mac. In addition, a new stand alone version that works without Firefox can also be downloaded. Zotero can:

  • Capture citations to content that you are viewing on the web (books, journal articles, websites, etc...).
  • Fomat bibliographies and works cited lists.
  • Contains a "plug in" for word processing programs (e.g., Word) to automatically add in-text citations.

 

EndNote Web

UWGB subscribes to a program called EndNote Web - a web-based service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. EndNote Web is free for UWGB students, faculty, and staff.

  • Undergraduate students can organize their references for citing in papers.

  • Professional researchers and graduate students can use EndNote Web as the perfect complement to EndNote and other desktop writing tools, as well as storing references between ISI Web of Knowledge search sessions.

 

Style Guides @ Cofrin Library

The following books provide detailed instructions on how to format citations in a particular style. Some style guides will be located in the reference collection on the 3rd floor of the library, or may be held behind the Research Help Desk. Please search the Cofrin Library Catalog or ask at the Research Help Desk for other style guides in Cofrin Library's collection.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010, 3rd floor
ISBN: 1433805618
From the American Psychological Association, this citation style is typically used in the social sciences.

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009, 3rd floor
ISBN: 1603290249
From the Modern Language Association, this citation style is typically used in the arts and humanities.

Cover Art
Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2010, 3rd floor
ISBN: 0226104206
From the University of Chicago Press, this citation style is popular in fields such as history, and other areas of arts and humanities.

Cover Art
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian), 7th ed.
Call Number: REF LB2369 .T8 2007, 3rd floor
ISBN: 0226823377
Referred to as "Turabian" style, this citation style is very similar to Chicago style.

Cover Art
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual, 7th ed.
Call Number: REF T11 .S386 2006, 3rd floor
ISBN: 097796650X
From the Council of Science Editors, this citation style is used in many science fields.

Cover Art
The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information, 3rd ed.
Call Number: REF QD8.5 .A25 2006, 3rd floor
ISBN: 9780841239999
From the American Chemical Society, this citation style is typically used in chemistry and other science fields.

Cover Art
Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More
Call Number: REF PN171 .F56 L55 2006, 3rd floor
ISBN: 9780226484754
Examples on how to format in-text citations, works cited/reference lists, and footnotes/endnotes in popular citation styles.

 
David A. Cofrin Library
University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2303 | Toll Free: 888-729-4611 | Email: refdesk@uwgb.edu
Support Wisconsin Libraries: Keep Us All in a Better State
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip