Databases
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowLibrarian recommended! Subjects covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Find articles, trade & academic journals, book chapters, and reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters. - Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include education, library science, and school administration. Find articles, academic & trade journals, and educational reports.
- PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Find full text articles, academic journals, and books & book chapters.
Why Use a Database?
Searching for peer-reviewed articles in a library database, as opposed to Google, or even Google Scholar, is often a wise choice.
Education Research Complete, PsychINFO, JSTOR, and other library databases are curated collections of thousands of peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals and other academic materials. This means that a team of experts evaluate material using specified criteria to determine if they should be included in a given database. Criteria include things like academic level of research, timeliness, and evidence of peer review.
Databases also offer advanced search and filtering options, like narrowing results by field of study or document type. Additionally, since they maintain thorough and detailed records, it's easy to locate all the information you need for your citations.