HIST/HUM STUD 104: World Civilizations II

Find photographs of events and personalities from the Russian Revolution.

When using this website, cite the original source provided. Ask a librarian if you need help with this.

This collection of photographs of daily life in the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics is drawn from the personal papers of Robert L. Eichelberger and Frank Whitson Fetter, two ordinary Americans who found themselves in an extraordinary place and time.

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.

From the fall of Russia’s last Tsar to the rise of the first communist state, discover how the seismic revolution of 1917 changed both a country and a world through expert articles and collection items.

This collection of 20th-century Russian posters spans almost the entire history of the Soviet Union (1917-1991).

Since 1998, Russia Archives Online has provided rare Russian archival footage and still images to leading global television networks, motion picture companies, publishing houses and museums as well as to researchers and education institutions.

This collection consists of websites documenting the revolution in Tunisia in 2011. Our partners at Library of Congress and Bibliothèque Nationale de France have contributed websites for this collection, and the sites are primarily in French and Arabic with some in English.

The objectives of the Tunisian Transition Oral History Project are twofold: (1) To document and interpret the events of revolutionary and transitional Tunisia (late 2010 to late 2015) from the perspective of prominent transition leaders in the technical government and in civil society, and (2) To understand the technical government as “answer” to outstanding revolutionary demands; and how it was implemented and functioned.

The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.

Find images, newspapers, and more.

Spans a wide range of historical eras, search for your topic on the main page.

The Dupee Collection offers nearly 200 broadsides published after the Mexican republic secured its independence in 1821. Chronicled within the broadsides are Mexican partisan politics, religious and anti-clerical debates, popular literature and drama, domestic revolutions and armed conflict with the United States. Most are Spanish-language sources written by Mexican citizens and published in Mexico.

The DeGolyer Library, SMU holds over 1,000,000 photographs and is especially rich in Western U.S. and Mexican photography. With more than 120 Mexican accessions, the DeGolyer has one of the most comprehensive collections from the period ca. 1865-1935 in the country totaling approximately 16,000 photographs and 3,000 negatives.

Hundreds of commercial and amateur photographers recorded imagery during the tumultuous Mexican Revolution...Many of the photographs were printed on postcard stock and marketed by commercial photographers to soldiers and civilians on either side of the international border between Mexico and the United States. Other photographic postcards in this collection created by amateur photographers document their personal experience in the conflict.

The posters on this website are from the collections of Stefan Landsberger (Leiden University, University of Amsterdam), the International Institute of Social History (IISH, Amsterdam, Netherlands), and an anonymous private collector. Together these collections consist of over 7,000 posters.

Find propaganda posters created by various Chinese agencies, 1968-1989.

The Chinese Civil War, 1945-1950, fought between the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and the Nationalist Party (GMD), was a defining conflict for China, East Asia, and the world. The Civil War was marked by a number of large battles and campaigns and the involvement of both the United States and the Soviet Union. The victory of the CCP and the founding of the People's Republic of China in October 1949 shifted the balance of power in the emerging Cold War.

The collection spans the pivotal period from the Chinese civil war and the consolidation of the Communist regime through the upheavals of the Great Leap Forward and Cultural Revolution. It chronicles the struggles within the top leadership, the buildup of the Chinese military, and the evolution of the Sino-Soviet split. With the benefit of hindsight, we now can study the assessments of these developments with a degree of historical perspective, while still feeling the excitement of reading "history as it happens."

This collection contains video interviews with people who experienced China’s Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution (1966-1976). The CR/10 (Cultural Revolution: 10) Project also includes interviews with young Chinese people born after the Cultural Revolution, who discuss how they learned of this historical incident. The entire collection of Chinese video interviews with English subtitles is available online.

Robert White is an Appalachian State University professor who studied and taught in China during the 1980s and 1990s. The collection contains pins, posters, objects, textiles, and printed material, largely produced for a Chinese audience, promoting the ideals and persona of Mao Zedong, the establishment of the People's Republic of China, and the Chinese Cultural Revolution (1966-1976).

Stories from 70 years of communist rule in China. Before using, make sure content you want would be considered a "primary source."

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic. Note: Newspapers are in Chinese.

This collection consists of 415 educational public health campaign slides within 22 discrete sets that were produced in mainland China from the 1950s -1970s. Educational slides played an important role in the history of public health campaigns in China during this period. Because slides were inexpensive to produce and easy to disseminate, they were the favored tool of propaganda and public education.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The Caribbean Newspaper Collection in dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The recent thawing of U.S./Cuba relations is a watershed moment and provides a unique opportunity for strategic collaborations involving the Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí(BNJM). The University of Florida (UF Libraries) has expanded its historical collaboration with Cuban institutions by signing an agreement with the BNJM to create broad and deep open access to digital collections of Cuban Heritage materials. Under the 2016 agreement, the University of Florida and the Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí have identified four major projects for the development and exchange of digital content from and about Cuba.

Stories from Cuba's recent history and its difficult relationship with the US. Before using, make sure content you want would be considered a "primary source."

Difficult to access for years, now exclusively available here. View digital versions of Iranian newspapers and periodicals capturing key historical events as they happened. From the University of Manchester Library.

The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database.The collection provides scholars and practitioners the opportunity to listen to and read the personal accounts of many of Iran's former political leaders as they recall the times and events that shaped their lives and the life of their country.

The Iranian collections include significant holdings on Iranian communism and communist parties, the Pahlavi dynasty, the Islamic revolution and establishment of the Islamic Republic of Iran, US relations with Iran, the Iran-Iraq war, and Shi'ism and Iranian politics. Included is one of the largest collections of Iranian political opposition materials in the United States.

Find news stories from United Press International from the Iranian Revolution.

Look back through our archive to explore the history of Iran's Islamic Revolution in 1979.

Documenting the political events in Czechoslovakia from the Prague Spring to the Velvet Revolution.

Memory of Nations is one of Europe's most extensive collections of life stories. It has been publicly accessible since 2008 as a database of testimonies of witnesses of 20th century events who survived the two totalitarian regimes - nazism and communism. The stories illustrate how these regimes impacted individual lives, and allow for uncovering of their substance.

Czech Digital Library allows to search documents contained in digital libraries operated by individual libraries in the Czech Republic. The aim is to ensure access to digital documents in libraries from a single location.

Our project aims to document all forms of intellectual expression, both artistic and cultural, during the time of the revolution, by writing, recording, and collecting stories of the Syrian people, and the experiences through which they have regained meaning of their social, political, and cultural lives. The website also aims to enhance the impact of the artistic Syrian resistance, to reinforce its place in the revolution, to archive and spread the messages it expresses, and to help establish networks between the groups or the individuals who animate it, as well as links with the outside world.

Syrian Archive is a Syrian led project that aims to preserve, enhance and memorialise documentation of human rights violations and other crimes committed by all parties to conflict in Syria for use in advocacy, justice and accountability.