Use Books for History Research
Books are excellent sources for secondary history research. Books can provide you with a great overview on a topic. You often don't need to read the whole book, but only a chapter or two for your research. Book bibliographies will also lead you to more excellent sources on your topic. Use Search@UW to start locating books through our library.
Find Books in Search@UW
Databases for Secondary Sources
Below you will find a list of popular databases used for locating secondary sources for research. You can use the filters within the databases to limit by resource type such as academic journals to locate journal articles.This is not a full list of the history databases you can use for searching. To view a full list, visit the link below. If you are having trouble locating a relevant database, visit the research help page of this guide to connect with a librarian.
- History Databases for Secondary Source ResearchView a full list of history databases for secondary source research here.
- America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended!
Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews. - American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, culture studies, law, art, and more. Covers over 600 regional cultures and over 15,000 years of First Nations history. Also includes a selection of primary sources. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters. - U.S. History In Context
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include United States history, including events, biographies, social movements, and politics. Find academic, trade, popular, and primary sources. - Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include multicultural & ethnic studies. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
- History Vault: Civil Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news, and more. Find primary sources, federal records, organization records, and more.
