Ask a Librarian
Search@UW - Search Books, Articles and More
Finding Articles
In addition to books, Search@UW contains articles, media, and our digital collections. As you can see in the infographic, Search@UW does not contain all of our articles. While it is a great place to start searching for articles, it should not be the only place you look. Try exploring our databases to find more specialized content for your topic.
Introducing Search@UW
Referred to as a "discovery layer," Search@UW pulls content from existing resources into one convenient search interface.
What’s in Search@UW
Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more. Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW. Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections. Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information.
Most often, in library terminology, this means an online collection of articles--scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles.
Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics. Other databases are more specialized and may focus on articles from a particular subject area such as business, history, or psychology.
Databases
Popular Databases for Article Searching
Popular Databases for Searching
Listed below are some of our most frequently used databases. However, this is only a fraction of what we have access to. You can see our full list of databases by clicking the database button above. There you can select the subject you are studying, and get recommended databases specifically for that area.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)Subjects covered include business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Find articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, and country reports.
- CINAHL Plus With Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find articles, academic journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, consumer information, and more.
- CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered. Find reports covering political and social issues.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include psychology and all specialties. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
How to get full text articles
When you see a "Find full text" button, click it to access the full article. If the article isn’t immediately available, you'll be directed to a Search@UW record page. Sign in to your UW-Green Bay account and use the "Get it" button to request a digital copy through interlibrary loan.