This is the "About" page of the "Government Publications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information on the Cofrin Library collection of different government publications and how to find them.
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwgb.edu/govpubs Print Guide RSS Updates

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Collections

usgpo depository logoThe Cofrin Library was established as a selective federal depository library for Wisconsin's 8th Congressional District in 1967. As a selective depository, we receive approximately 30% of the materials available through the federal depository program.    The collection does contain some historical materials reaching back in the 1800's, primarily in the areas of census, legislative, and judicial topics.

 We receive government information in a variety of formats, including paper, microfiche, microfilm, CD-ROM, and electronically via the Internet.

  •  The collection is housed on the 5th floor of the library and is arranged on the shelf by issuing agency rather than subject, using the SuDocs (Superintentendent of Documents) system. 
  •  Publications received in paper or elecronically  since 1995 are listed in the library's catalog. 
  • Older materials and microformat publications are not listed in the catalog.  Please ask for assistance at the 3rd floor Reasearch Assistance Desk in using our extensive collection of print indexes to identify and locate publications not in the catalog.
  • Our federal documents collection is freely available for public use in-house. 

Wisconsin depository logoWe are also a full Wisconsin Depository Library since 1974.

Local documents: We collect some county and municipal publications.  selectively; these are housed in the Wisconsin documents collection. 

The Wisconsin documents collection is housed on the 5th floor of the library and the entire collection is listed in our book catalog.  Items are arranged on the shelve by the issuing agency using the Wisconsin Documents call number systerm rather than by subject, just like the federal documents collection.  

 

Essential Titles for Public Use

The essential titles list is a collection of U.S. Government information resources containing critical information that the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) plans to continue disseminating in tangible format in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).

This list is subject to change. More resources may be acquired for the FDLP. Alternatively access to resources may change if the issuing agency changes their publishing practices. Check the List of Classes and WebTech Notes for the latest information.

 

TIPS

Even if we don't have a particular government publication, it is easy for us to borrow it for you from one of the full depositiory libraries in Wisconsin, which are the Milwaukee Public Library or UW Madison and the Wisconsin State Historical Society.

 

Government RSS Feeds & Blogs

 

Government Book Talk

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Learn more About Government Information

Click on the book title to go to the electronic version (when available).

Cover Art
United States Government Manual - U.S. Government Printing Office
Call Number: REFDESK GVP US AE 2.108/2:
Basic current information and contacts for all major agencies in the 3 branches of government.

Cover Art
Using Government Information Sources - Marilyn K. Moody; Jean L. Sears
Call Number: Reference Desk J83 .S426 2001x
ISBN: 1573562882
Publication Date: 2001-02-28
Designed for beginning as well as experienced researchers, this resource will guide users to the best government information sources both print and electronic. Each chapter is grouped into four search strategy categories: the subject search, the agency search, the statistical search, and special techniques

Cover Art
State of Wisconsin Blue Book
Call Number: GVP WI A. 1: and current edition at Reference Desk

David A. Cofrin Library
University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2303 | Toll Free: 888-729-4611 | Email: refdesk@uwgb.edu
Support Wisconsin Libraries: Keep Us All in a Better State
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip