Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UW Libraries Guides

University of Wisconsin System Library Resources

Library resources available to all UW System Campuses

Welcome!

This guide is for faculty, staff, and students to learn what library resources are shared across the UW System.  

 

How do I access the resources?

  • Use the list 'A-Z Database Lists by Campus' and visit the campus website you are affiliated with. 

Who do I contact for help? 

  • Connect with library staff at your campus via their website.  

Top Journal Databases

Resource Description
American Chemical Society - ACS Chemistry journal articles. 
Academic Search Premier Academic journals for scholarly research.
America: History and Life Citation search of publications about the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Business Premium Collection Articles in all areas of business; market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news, with a strength in global coverage.
Business Source Premier Full-text journal and peer-reviewed articles covering all disciplines of business.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Nursing and allied health articles. Subjects covered include biomedicine, behavioral sciences, consumer health, health management, and education.
Clinical Key Evidence based search that provides health care professionals with point-of-care answers.
Data Planet Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas, with tools for searching, analyzing and visualizing.
GreenFILE Environmental information from scholarly, government, and general interest sources.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Journal articles focusing on medical disciplines and medication information.
Literary Reference Center Plus Journal articles and books on literature including criticism, reviews, and author information.
Project Muse Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
ProQuest Congressional Publications Collection of U.S. federal government publications from the late 18th century to the present. Access is for 1789-2015 for all campuses except Milwaukee. 
PsycArticles Journal articles in psychology. 
PsycInfo Journals and eBooks in behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences.
Web of Science Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences.
Westlaw Campus Research Legal documents at the federal and state level, including court cases, statutes, and secondary legal information.

 

Streaming Video

Resource Description
Films on Demand Educational films and documentaries in all subject areas. Faculty can create playlists, link to individual videos, and embed videos in Canvas.
LGBT Studies in Video Documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history and culture.
National Theatre Collection Performances from the UK's National Theatre and archival materials such as prompt scripts and costume designs.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video Short scenario videos of nurses and patients with mental health disorders in various medical settings.

PBS Video Collection

Documentaries and video series from PBS, including NOVA, Nature, American Experience, and Frontline
 

eBooks

Resource Description
Brill  Select titles in humanities, area studies, and social sciences from 2007-2011.
Ebook Central Books in almost every subject area. Includes business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
OverDrive Popular fiction and nonfiction eBooks and e-audiobooks 
Project Muse Books in the humanities and social sciences. 
PsycInfo Behavioral science and mental health eBooks.
Taylor and Francis Books in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Wiley eBooks Books in life, health, social, and physical sciences and humanities.

ProQuest Ebook CentralOverdrive logo with text that states Borrow eBooks & Audiobooks

News

Resource Coverage Description
African American Newspapers   Newspaper articles by and about Black Americans
Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers Current and Historical Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 90 days ago.
Global Newsstream Current News in all formats from around the world. 
Newspaper Source Plus Current and Historical News articles from U.S. and international newspapers, and TV and radio transcripts.
Newspapers.com Library Edition Current and Historical Regional, state, and local historical newspapers.
Regional Business News Current and Historical Business journal articles and newspapers.

 

Primary Sources

Resource Description
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500 - 1950 Diaries and letters of British and Irish women from 1500-1900.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts Provides access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation Access to seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Early American Newspapers Subjects covered include historic local, regional, & national news. Find news and primary sources. Access granted to all UW campuses except Milwaukee.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment Books and primary sources documenting relationships between people in North America from 1534-1850.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Books and primary sources from 1475-1700 in English.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Books and primary sources from the 1700s in English.
Gerritsen Collection : Women's History online, 1543-1945 Primary source books and documents on women's history and feminism from 1543-1945. 
Gilded Age Primary documents and scholarly commentary covering the period between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt
Lily Database The first U.S. newspaper by and for women, issued 1849-1856.
New York Academy of Science Digital Archive The digital archive of the New York Academy of Sciences.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Primary sources from the 1800s mainly from Western perspectives.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Newspaper articles from nineteenth-century America.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories Personal narratives from people who immigrated to the U.S. and Canada before 1950.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950 Diaries, biographies, and correspondence from U.S. and Canadian women through 1950.
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland Digital Archive Primary sources of the association.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) of early English news media.
Times Digital Archive Archives of the newspaper The Times of London from 1785–1985.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family  Etiquette and personal conduct books from the 1900s
Women and Social Movements in the United States Documents, articles, and teaching tools focused on women's activism in public life and social movements.

 

Additional Databases

Resource Description
African American Music Reference Encyclopedia about Black American music including song sheets and album notes.
Black Drama Writings of Black dramatists from 1850 - present.
Europa Sacra Information on medieval bishoprics, archdioceses, and religious orders.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Encyclopedia entries and audio recordings on global music.
International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages Covers Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East for the years 300-1500 CE.
International Medieval Bibliography Search descriptions of books on the European Middle ages. 
Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of Antiquity Information on the ancient grammarians for scholars of Greek and Latin antiquity for research into the history of philology, grammar and ancient scholarship.
Lexikon des Mittelalters Covers all branches of Medieval Studies for the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. (published 1977-1999)
Literature Criticism Online Digital Archive Literary commentary, analysis, and criticism.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library Classical music scores from the Middle Ages to the present.
New York Academy of Science Digital Archive The digital archive of the New York Academy of Sciences.
OECD Library The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals. Content availability through August 2020. 
Reaxys In-depth chemical substance and reaction data. Especially useful for searching organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemical data of molecules.
Red Book Online Information on pediatric infectious diseases.
Revolution and Protests Online Videos, images, text, and primary sources on revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Archive Journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in London, back to the first published volume for each title.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period Subjects covered include literature, poetry, and women's studies. Find works from 60 volumes of rare lyric poetry from over 50 Scottish women poets.