It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access article databases from your school or home, click on BadgerLink.
If you are prompted to Login, use information from your public library ID card.
Click "All Resources" then limit to "Scholarly Journals" in the "Format" box, and click the "Apply" button.
Select one of the databases from the list.
If you arrive at the "Basic Search" page of the database, select "Advanced Search" in order to limit by full-text, date, type of material and/or peer-reviewed material.
Databases to start with...
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,300 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for nearly 900 reference books and over 73,00 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 1.6 million photos, maps & flags.
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.
- Databases A-Z - A list of all our databases (150+), which you can view by subject area
Search@UW or single database search?
The best use of Search@UW is when you need a large number or a variety of resources. It is also helpful when your research question spans a number of different subjects, making it difficult to choose a single-subject database.
However, not all database content is available through Search@UW. There will also be many instances in which a single-subject database will have enough content that a user will not need the multiple resources connected to Search@UW. In these cases, a single database search may be easier and more efficient.
Tips for better searching
an asterisk ( * ) at the stem of a word will find all forms of the word: educat*= education, educable, educate. It will also find the plural of the word.
Question marks (?) can be used as wild cards to replace an unknown letter or letters in a keyword. Each question mark takes the place of one letter. This is especially helpful with spelling issues; e.g. if you can't remember whether i or e is first, use Einst??n. The number sign (#) is used to replace an extra character if one exists, e.g. colo#r = color or colour.
Quotes around phrases ( “xx yy” ) will insure that your keywords are searched as a phrase; rather than individual words. "Social work" will yield much different results than results with social and/or work.
An asterisk (*) acts as a wild card for multiple letters; e.g. bird*= birdsong, birdcage; p*diatric searches for pediatric or paediatric. A question mark (? ) is a single character wild card, e.g., wom?n=woman or women.
To find all forms of a particular word (known as stemming), use the number sign (#), e.g., goose# finds goose, geese, and gosling. To add the plural to a term, use the ampersand (&), e.g., cat& = cat and cats.
As in EBSCOhost, quotes around phrases (“xx yy”) will insure that your keywords are searched as a phrase; rather than individual words.