Research Guides: HIST 423: Topics in European History- Nazi Germany: Getting Started

Find Books & Articles using Search@UW

Search@UW

Use Search@UW when you want to:

Find books and articles using one search;
Do a broad, multidisciplinary search;
Use a variety of information sources; or
Want books or media owned by UW-Green Bay or other UW System libraries.

If you want to do a focused search in a particular discipline, choose a database instead. If you want a book that is not owned by UWGB or another UW System Library, use ILLiad to request it.

Search in Subject Specific Databases

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, news, and a wide range of topics. Find primary sources: the full text and full image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century.
Coverage from 1851 to present- most recent 3 years not available.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find citations to primary sources: popular, general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library is a genealogical database that includes records regarding the U.S. Federal Census, vital life events, military service, and immigration.
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
This is a Badgerlink resource, if you are unable to access please visit the Badgerlink site: https://badgerlink.dpi.wi.gov/

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended!
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended!
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include humanities, area studies, classics, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and performing arts. Find articles, academic and trade journals, books, and book chapters.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include humanities, arts, and social sciences. Find academic journal articles & books.
Coverage 1995 -
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include multicultural & ethnic studies. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Coverage: 1954 -

FedFlix
Find films produced by the United States government. All films are in the public domain and are available for reuse without any restrictions.
PBS Video Collection
A wide range of subjects covered. Find documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films.
Docuseek
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subjects. Find streaming video that can be embedded into courses or viewed online.
Films on Demand Master Academic (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find streaming video, film, clips, educational films, and documentaries.
A Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos anytime. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection.*If you cannot access a specific film title through Films on Demand, please search for that title in Search@UW (www.uwgb.edu/library). If you continue to experience difficulty accessing the film, contact the Research Desk at refdesk@uwgb.edu *
Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Find streaming video, documentaries, films, and film clips.
American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, biography, politics, world events. Find primary sources, streaming video content, and newsreels.
The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. Collection mainly consists of contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s.

Looking for a specific article?

If have a specific article you are looking for, you can usually locate it by searching the title in Search@UW. If doesn't show up in your initial Search@UW search, you can try two things:

Option 1: Use the "Expand My Search" Checkbox

By clicking on the "expand my search" checkbox, this will extend your search to articles found outside of our UW-Green Bay Library resources. This might mean that we do not have immediate access to the article you are looking for, but you can place an interlibrary loan request (ILL) to view the article. Requests typically take 1-3 business days.

Option 2: Perform an Advanced Search

Once on the result page, click on the advanced search option.

You can add change your search to search for specific fields like the title, author, publication date, etc.

Still can't locate it? Click on the research help page of this guide to connect with a librarian.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Requests

We can get it for you for free! (ILL & ILLiad)

Interlibrary Loan allows you to request materials from libraries across the globe. ILL is the perfect way to get electronic copies of articles that the UW-Green Bay Libraries don't own, as well as books, movies, music or anything else you're interested in. Articles generally arrive within 1-3 business days and physical items within 5-8 business days.

Detailed requesting information can be found on the Placing an ILL Request page.