About this guide
This guide will help you find resources, information and topics relating to First Nations peoples. Use the navigation menu to find useful sources that will help you learn more about Indian Country here in Wisconsin and across the country. There is a lot of cross over in First Nations Studies; for example art, dance and history are all important aspects of powwows. Be sure to browse the whole guide to find how topics overlap.
If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. For other questions about a specific assignment, consult with your professor.
- First Nations Studies at UWGBLibrarian recommended!
Find information on the program and resources including an overview of American Indian Values
Background Information
Books
Native American Issues: A Reference Handbook by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005Librarian recommended!
This handbook provides an unbiased, in-depth assessment of the struggles, successes, and status of Native Americans in what is now the United States from the time of the first European settlers to the present.
Native Universe: Voices of Indian America by Call Number: Click title for availabilityPublication Date: 2004Written by a distinguished group of Native American scholars, poets, activists, and tribal leaders, the book offers its non-Indian readers a closer understanding of Native perspectives, beliefs, and histories.
Social Issues in Contemporary Native America: Reflections from Turtle Island by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2016This book places the historical foundations of Native American social work in context in order to fully provide the reader with a comprehensive survey on various aspects of working with Native American families; community health and wellness; and community revitalization and decolonization.
Teaching Spirits: Understanding Native American Religious Traditions by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2001Teaching Spirits offers a thematic approach to Native American religious traditions. Through years of living with and learning about Native traditions across the continent, Joseph Epes Brown learned firsthand of the great diversity of the North American Indian cultures.
Websites
- Native American TraditionsLibrarian recommended!
Learn more about Native Peoples' traditions, experiences, and current issues through the Pluralism Project at Harvard University. - Native American Heritage MonthInformation from PBS about Native American Heritage Month.
- Tribal Nations and the United States: An IntroductionDeveloped by NCAI, this guide seeks to provide a basic overview of the history and underlying principles of tribal governance. View and download guide.
- Indians/Native Americans Resources from the National ArchivesThis page contains links to American history relating to Native Americans from the US National Archives.
- Oral Tradition in Indian CountryProvides an explanation of Native ORal Tradition from the Milwaukee Public Museum.
- American Indian Research ProjectThe American Indian Research Project (AIRP) contains over 2,300 oral history interview recordings from the University of South Dakota.
Recommended Databases
- American Indian HistoryLibrarian recommended!
Subjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, culture studies, law, art, and more. Covers over 600 regional cultures and over 15,000 years of First Nations history. Also includes a selection of primary sources. - Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowLibrarian recommended!
Subjects covered include multicultural & ethnic studies. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles. - Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include history, First Nations studies, cultural studies, and environmental studies. Find primary sources; both published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
- North American Indian Thought and CultureSubjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, biography, and cultural studies. Find autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
- America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include humanities, arts, and social sciences. Find academic journal articles & books.
- Artstor on JSTOR
Subjects covered include art, design, architecture, fashion, maps, photography, and more. Find images from museums, archives, and other institutions.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Find scholarly articles, books & book chapters, and editorial content.
- Music Index Online (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include music, music industry, and musicians. Find scholarly & trade articles, books & book chapters.
- Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Find articles, trade & academic journals, book chapters, and reviews.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include law, government, and reference information. Find a wide range of legal materials including legislative histories, codes and regulations, and Federal and State case law.
- Congress.gov (formerly THOMAS) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include law, government, political science, history, and reference. Find bill summaries & status, full text of bills, major legislation enacted into law and more.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include law, political science, government, and related fields. Find hearing transcripts and submitted testimony, Committee reports, Bills, Public laws, Selected committee prints, Congressional documents, Congressional Record, Federal Register, Current Code of Federal Regulations, and the current US Code.
- Criminal Justice CollectionSubjects covered include criminal justice, law, government, and other social sciences. Find news, scholarly and trade publication, and reports.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include psychology and all specialties. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and related fields. Find scholarly articles including case studies, clinical trials, meta-analyses, review articles, and editorial content.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find articles, academic & trade journals, reviews, and reports.
- CINAHL Plus With Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find articles, academic journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, consumer information, and more.
Recommended Film Resources
- PBS Video CollectionA wide range of subjects covered. Find documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films.
- Films on Demand Master Academic (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowLibrarian recommended!
A wide range of subjects covered. Find streaming video, film, clips, educational films, and documentaries.
- Indigenous Cinema from National Film Board of CanadaNational Film Board of Canada has made over 200 Indigenous-made films available for free streaming.
- PBS Wisconsin Educational VideosVideo resources for educators teaching First Nations Studies content.