Showing 50 Databases
Best Bets!
Subjects covered include history, news, and a wide range of topics. Find primary sources: the full text and full image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century.
The Times (London, England) Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785-2009.
Find primary sources on a range of topics. Includes newspapers, historical & archival documents, and other academic material.
A wide range of subjects covered. Find citations to primary sources: popular, general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
Additional Databases
Subjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news, and more. Find primary sources and news.
Subjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news and more. Find news, commentary, advertisements, literature, drawings and photographs, and primary source material.
Subjects covered include history, biography, and multicultural & ethnic studies. Find primary sources like personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Subjects covered include history, biography, politics, world events. Find primary sources, streaming video content, and newsreels.
Subjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, culture studies, law, art, and more. Covers over 600 regional cultures and over 15,000 years of First Nations history. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Ancestry Library is a genealogical database that includes records regarding the U.S. Federal Census, vital life events, military service, and immigration.
Subjects covered include art, design, architecture, fashion, maps, photography, and more. Find images from museums, archives, and other institutions.
This is a multi-media resource of Belgian immigrants to Wisconsin. It contains digitized photographs, e-facsimiles of books, and digitized audio.
Subjects covered include African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues. Find film and streaming video.
Find videos, images, and text on more than thirty key worldwide border areas.
Subjects covered include history, women's & gender studies, literature & language, anthropology. Find writings of women from Great Britain and Northern Ireland, mainly primary source material.
Subjects covered include history, Wisconsin & local, geography, and primary sources. Find plat books, atlases and school yearbooks and school newspapers that document early Northeastern Wisconsin.
Subjects covered include history and humanities of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. Find primary sources: theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, sermons, and letters.
Subjects covered include religion, philosophy, history, and humanities. Find primary sources: theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, social and political works, sermons, letters, and polemical treatises.
Subjects covered include historic local, regional, & national news. Find news and primary sources.
Subjects covered include history, First Nations studies, cultural studies, and environmental studies. Find primary sources; both published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
Subjects covered include literature, history, philosophy, humanities, and religious studies. Find digital copies of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
Subjects covered include literature, history, philosophy, humanities, and religious studies. Find English-language and foreign-language books printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century.
Subjects covered include history, religion, philosophy, and humanities. Find information on medieval Church prelates including information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates under obedience to Rome.
Subjects covered include history and humanities. Find primary sources, texts published before 1750.
Find films produced by the United States government. All films are in the public domain and are available for reuse without any restrictions.
Subjects covered include history, women's history, women& gender studies, and social sciences. Find primary sources: mainly documents from early feminists movements.
Subjects covered include race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage. Find photographs, songs, and other primary source materials as well as scholarly essays.
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Subjects covered include history, news, and a wide range of topics. Find primary sources: the full text and full image articles from several Wisconsin newspapers, some dating back to the 19th century
Subjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news, and more. Find primary sources, federal records, organization records, and more.
Subjects covered include lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender studies, gender studies, history, and politics. Find documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films
Subjects covered include photojournalism on national and international events, popular culture, politics, and vintage advertising. Find Life Magazine issues from 1936-2000.
The Lily is the first newspaper for women and was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894).
Find historical sound recordings. All recordings are in the public domain and are available for reuse without any restrictions.
Subjects covered include genealogy, history, and culture. Contains Wisconsin newspaper coverage.
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Subjects covered include history of the 19th century: revolution, reform, nation building, culture, education, more. Find primary source collections.
Subjects covered include history and related fields. Find primary sources: North American immigrant letters, diaries, and oral histories from the United States and Canada.
Subjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, biography, and cultural studies. Find autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
Subjects covered include history and related fields. Find primary sources: letters and diaries that describe the immediate experiences of 107 women.
Find videos, images, text, and primary sources on revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements.
Subjects covered include literature, poetry, and women's studies. Find works from 60 volumes of rare lyric poetry from over 50 Scottish women poets.
The TLS historical archive provides searchable access to the full text of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 through 2009. It includes more than 300,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles.
Find printed works and primary source material on the various facets of Eastern Religion.
Find books, chapters, primary sources, and archival material on modern Islamic theology.
Subjects covered include United States history, including events, biographies, social movements, and politics. Find academic, trade, popular, and primary sources.
Subjects covered include news and current events. Find current and archival to 1980 U.S. news.
Family history research records from the Wisconsin Historical Society records available on Ancestry.
Subjects covered include women and gender studies, social movements, social justice, sociology, politics, activism, history, and related fields. Find projects addressing aspects of women and social movements in the United States; each project contains primary documents and contextual materials collected to answer a specific question.
Subjects covered include world history including biographies, cultural trends, political movements, wars & conflicts, and religions. Find academic, popular, trade, and primary sources.