About this guide
This guide will help you find resources and information for your research paper in Technical Writing.
If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. For other questions about your assignment, consult with your professor.
Background research
After you've selected a new technology, start with some basic background research. Reference materials like subject-specific encyclopedias are great for this! These specialized references provide clear and reliable introductions, making it easier to grasp the basics.
To find an encyclopedia article on your topic:
- On the library homepage, search for the name of your technology in Search@UW. This should be short, only a few words.
- On the search results page, look for the Refine My Results filters, and select Resource Types > Reference Entries. You may need to click Show more to find it.
- Review the results, being sure to check the title of the encyclopedia or reference work and its publication date.
- If you don't see relevant results, try broader keywords. For example, instead of wind turbines, try wind energy or wind power.
Additional research
Your background research should help you identify some of the key components of your paper outline: problems the technology solves, how it works, existing technologies or solutions to the problem, benefits of the new technology, and concerns with the new technology.
Conduct additional research on these topics using Search@UW on the library homepage, or in one of the databases listed below. These databases are more curated collections of resources that may help you conduct a more focused search.
- Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include engineering, technology, computer science, applied sciences, and more. Find trade & industry journals, academic journals, professional society publications, conference proceedings, and specialized subject periodicals.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Find technical literature, academic articles, standards, books, and conference abstracts.
How to get full text
IEEE Style
- IEEE Reference Guide [PDF]The IEEE Reference Guide (PDF, 684 KB) outlines how to cite a variety of references in IEEE style.
- IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors [PDF]The IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors (PDF, 1.42 MB) contains a formal set of editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters, including: punctuation, capitalization, abbreviations, section headings, numbers, equations, footnotes, biographies.
- Zotero"Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research."