About this guide
This guide will help you find resources and information for your assignments in English 206: Women in Literature. Use the navigation menu to choose the assignment you are working on. On each page you will find useful sources that will help you meet the requirements of the assignment.
If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. For other questions about your assignment, consult with your professor.
Databases to Research Historically Underrepresented Voices
The following databases will help you research primary voices from women and other historically marginalized communities. Some general tips as you use these databases: Use filters to narrow your search, typically available on the left side of the screen. Specifically, you might narrow by specific women authors or by publication/article type, depending on what you are looking for. Most collections have sub-collections that are organized by publisher. You might browse these publications for any that specifically mention women.
- African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news and more. Find news, commentary, advertisements, literature, drawings and photographs, and primary source material.
- Black Drama: 1850-present (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include theatre & drama, multicultural & ethnic studies, literature, and history. Find plays written from the 1850's to the present, playbills, and photographs.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include history, women's & gender studies, literature & language, anthropology. Find writings of women from Great Britain and Northern Ireland, mainly primary source material.
- Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include history, women's history, women& gender studies, and social sciences. Find primary sources: mainly documents from early feminists movements.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture
This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, biography, and cultural studies. Find autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include history and related fields. Find primary sources: letters and diaries that describe the immediate experiences of 107 women.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, poetry, and women's studies. Find works from 60 volumes of rare lyric poetry from over 50 Scottish women poets.
Literature-specific Databases
The following databases can be used to research specific pieces of literature. You can search by title, author, or topic.
- Gale Literature (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects include literature, language, book reviews, criticism, and more. Find journal articles, book chapters, reviews, and reference works. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters. - Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, literary criticiasm, and general humanities. Find reference works, monographs, classic books and anthologies, and literary journals.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Find scholarly articles, books & book chapters, and editorial content. - Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO)Subjects covered include poetry, creative writing, literature and language, and reference. Find poems, short stories, reference works, analyses, reviews, books, and book chapters.