Ask a Librarian
Websites for Statistical Data
The following websites publish population health metrics and other statistics related to individual countries. Each resource is unique, and you may want to check all of them to obtain the most comprehensive information.
- WHO Global Health Observatory (GHO) DataLibrarian recommended! The GHO is WHO's "gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States." Find country data and statistics and theme pages focused on global health priorities. Includes COVID-19 situation dashboard and reports.
- Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)IHME is "an independent population health research center" that measures and evaluates global health problems. Includes COVID-19 country projections, plus data (including DALYs) and publications that measure epidemiological levels and trends worldwide.
- DHS Program: DataReady-to-use data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition for over 90 countries from over 300 surveys from USAID's Demographic and Health Surveys Program.
- Statista: COVID-19/Coronavirus facts and figuresStatistics and facts about COVID-19, including detailed information on specific countries
- European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control: COVID-19Includes global data updated daily, plus facts, surveillance reports and more.
Databases with Research Articles
The databases most relevant to your course are listed below. Click on the name of a database to search.
- CINAHL Plus With Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended! Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialities. Find article, academic journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, consumer information, and more. - MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and related fields. Find scholarly articles including case studies, clinical trials, meta-analyses, review articles, and editorial content.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find articles, academic & trade journals, reviews, and reports.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Find scholarly and trade journals, articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Library Databases Tip: Find Full Text Button
Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.
If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.
