Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 204: Principles of Biology Lab (Wefferling)

Starting a Search

These directions apply to both Biological Abstracts and Science Citation Index.

Screenshot of Web of Science basic search
  1. This shows which database you are searching.
  2. This drop-down menu indicates which field you are searching. Topic, the default option, searches titles, abstracts, and author-supplied keywords.
  3. Enter your keywords. You can use "quotation marks" around your terms to search for an exact phrase.
  4. By default, Add date range uses the Index Date, which is when the article was added to the database. Most users would find Publication Date to be more useful.

Viewing Results List

  1. Use the Refine results column to narrow your results. This can be particularly useful if you have a lot of results. Some of the most useful filters are publication year, document types, and major concepts.
  2. By default, results will be sorted by Relevance.
  3. Each result lists the title of the article, authors, journal title, publication date, and a few lines of the abstract.
  4. Click Show more to view the entire abstract on the search results page.
Screenshot of Web of Science search results

Finding Full Text

Biological Abstracts, Science Citation Index, and other Web of Science databases do not include the full text of articles, but they do include links to help you get to the full text.

  1. For all articles, you should see a Find It! button. Click this to check to see if the article is available in the library's subscriptions.
    • Find It button, labeled Context Sensitive Links
  2. If the full text is available, there will be a link to access it immediately.
    • Screenshot of View Online Wiley Online Library
  3. If the full text is not available in the library's subscriptions, you can request it through interlibrary loan for free. This generally takes 1-3 business days.
    • Screenshot of We can get it for you for free! ILL & ILLiad

If an article is open access, Web of Science may also include a link to view the full text from the publisher or another source. For a consistent experience, we recommend always using the Find It button.