It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subjects covered include biography and history. Biographies of thousands of men and women whose lives have shaped the U.S.
American National Biography, published by Oxford University Press, contains portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Links to related online resources are also available. The format of articles in the American National Biography is based on chronology. A given article traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death.
This guide will help you find resources and information for your assignments in ENG 344: Harlem Renaissance. Use the tabs above to choose the type of source you are looking for. On each page you will find useful sources that will help you meet the requirements of your assignments.
If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. For other questions about your assignment, consult with your professor.
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.
Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Coverage: 1954 -
Subjects covered include multicultural & ethnic studies and news. Find ethnic and minority press newspapers, magazines, and journals.
With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage. Coverage: 1990 to date.