Skip to main content

E-books @ UW-Green Bay Libraries

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Contains thousands of e-books and e-book chapters.

  • Find full text e-books and e-book chapters.
  • All titles can be viewed online.
  • Some titles can be downloaded to your Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) account. Directions for setting up an Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) account are located at the bottom of this page.
  • When viewing online, a limited number pages of each title can be printed or converted to a PDF. The number of pages varies depending on publisher-specified limits.
  • Many books have limits for concurrent users.
  • Titles can be found through Search@UW (see e-books tab for directions) or directly through the EBSCO site (use link provided below).

Using EBSCO eBook Collection- Directions

  1. Once you find a title you would like to view select either the “PDF Full Text” or the “Download” link (this guide explains how to download an EBSCOhost eBook).
    1. The “PDF Full Text” option will allow you to view the eBook and print or save a limited number of pages. You must remain in the EBSCOhost database to use this feature.
    2. The “Download” option allows you to check-out the eBook and transfer it to your Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) account. You can then read the full text on any ADE enabled device.
  2. Some books have limits on how many people can use the book at the same time, look for the “concurrent users” line in the full record.
  3. To download the book, you must first sign in to your EBSCOhost account. If you do not have an EBSCOhost account, you can create one for free. Your EBSCOhost account is NOT linked to your UWGB username and password.
  4. Once you sign in with your EBSCOhost account and select “Download”, a pop-up window will appear. Select the number of days you would like for your checkout period (1-14 days). Check the "I have Adobe Digital Editions" box  and select “Download.”
  5. Your checked-out eBooks will now appear in your EBSCOhost account, you can transfer titles to your Adobe Digital Editions account from this page by clicking on “Download.”
  6. To view the books you have checked out you need Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer/device. You can download this free software on Adobe's website.
  7. You should be able to see your downloaded title(s) when you open your Adobe Digital Editions library.

Using EBSCO eBook Collection

Adobe Digital Editions

You can download and read some e-books offline using free Adobe Digital Editions software with a free Adobe ID account. To get started:

  1. Download Adobe Digital Editions
  2. Run the installer and follow the on-screen instructions
  3. Create a free Adobe ID within Adobe Digital Editions or on Adobe's website