Secondary Sources
A secondary source describes or analyzes a primary source. These sources are one step removed from the actual event and allow you to understand what scholars and other experts know about your topic.
Types of Secondary Sources:
- Books or articles that explain or review research works
- Histories and critical commentaries
- Textbooks
- Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials
- Newspaper articles, magazine articles, and webpages authored by people who had nothing to do with the actual research
- Journal article that summarizes the results of other researchers' experiments
Search@UW - Search Books, Articles and More
Library Databases for Secondary Research
- American Indian History
This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include First Nations Studies, history, culture studies, law, art, and more. Covers over 600 regional cultures and over 15,000 years of First Nations history. Also includes a selection of primary sources. - Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include multicultural & ethnic studies. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include history, First Nations studies, cultural studies, and environmental studies. Find primary sources; both published and unpublished acounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
- America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
This is not our full list of databases related to history secondary research. For a full list of history databases, see link below.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Find articles, trade & academic journals, book chapters, and reviews.
- Docuseek
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subjects. Find streaming video that can be embedded into courses or viewed online. - Films on Demand Master Academic (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find streaming video, film, clips, educational films, and documentaries. - PBS Video CollectionA wide range of subjects covered. Find documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films.