Skip to main content

SHB PSYCH Courses: Finding Articles

Tiffany Wilhelm

Articles databases

Databases to start with (to search multiple ProQuest or Ebsco databases simultaneously, click one of them below then Choose Databases at the top of the screen):

​​-  Databases A-Z - A list of all our databases (150+), which you can view by subject area

Ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan

The FindIt button
We can get it for you for free! (ILL & ILLiad)

Interlibrary Loan allows you to request materials from libraries across the globe. ILL is the perfect way to get electronic copies of articles that the UW-Green Bay Libraries don't own, as well as books, movies, music or anything else you're interested in. Articles generally arrive within 1-3 business days and physical items within 5-8 business days.

Detailed requesting information can be found on the Placing an ILL Request page.

Is it a database or a website?

Libraries purchase databases which index journal articles and often provide full-text copies of those articles.  Although purchased databases are accessed through the internet, they are not "internet sources" or "websites."  Instead, think of these sources as products designed to facilitate academic research.   Because they are purchased, they are not freely available to the public.

Sources other than licensed databases are freely available via Google or other search engines.  These may, or may not, be the kind of information that can be used for a research paper.

Search Tips

Database searching in 3 steps: 

Step 1:  Brainstorm keywords (words you use to describe your topic). 

Step 2:  Construct your search: 

  • Choose database(s).  Start most psychology research with PsycINFO.
  • On the search page, type your keywords in the boxes provided.  Remember, you are typing words or word phrases, not questions.
  • You will get more results if you do not select a search field.
  • Select the peer-reviewed limiter to limit your results to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.

Step 3:  Examine results:

  • Too many results?  Try applying a date limiter or using more narrow keywords to describe your topic.  For example, if you searched "anxiety," try narrower terms like "panic" or "fear."  There may be search terms suggested on the left side of your results page or you can search terms using the THESAURUS or SUBJECT TERM index that is often provided with the database.
  • Not enough results?  Try searching a broader topic; use fewer keywords.  Try new keywords from your brainstorm list or use search terms suggested by the database.
  • Found the perfect article?  First, see if it is offered in full text.  If not, click the "Find It" button to find the article in print or another database or order it through Inter-Library Loan.   Next, don't stop searching!  Look at the "subject terms" or "author supplied" terms to see if those terms match your keywords.  If not, try some searches using those terms.