Collection Management
The UW-Green Bay Libraries Collection Management department selects and maintains materials to support the learning and research of students, faculty, and staff. Collection Management also ensures access is available to expansive collection of online resources.
Print Collections
The Cofrin Library's print collection of over 200,000 books offers broad subject coverage for browsing and checkout to support faculty, staff, and student study, learning, and research. Through curriculum and program review, materials are selected by the Collection Development Librarian with the support of the subject liaisons and faculty consultation and input.
Many areas of the collection have been reviewed for relevancy and currency in this past year as part of a collection-wide evaluation. This has included the IMC (Instructional Materials Collection) and IMC Reading, which support the teachers and students in the primary and secondary education program. The IMC provides resources for lesson planning, manuals and workbooks while IMC Reading is a collection of children's literature to support diversity education.
Electronic Collections
Electronic resources have become essential for research and learning. The Cofrin Library has focused on developing the online collections to make more materials available to the users at their point of need. With access to over 250,000 journals, e-books, and streaming videos, the library provides current, high-quality materials through any device. Print collections are supplemented with extensive access to e-book collections covering all disciplines of study. Faculty, staff, and students have 24/7 access to over 50,000 e-books, with new publications being added daily.
The library maintains 187 databases. Recent additions to support new programs at UW Green Bay include the JSTOR Sustainability Collection, which offers journals and research reports on environmental research and policy work on the societal impact of environmental stresses, and SPORTDiscus, a database with resources covering subjects such as sports medicine, coaching and education, consumer health, and exercise science.
In addition to resources obtained directly by the library, the University of Wisconsin System and the University of Wisconsin - Madison have acquired several databases to which access has been extended to the University of Wisconsin - Green Bay. The newest additions include Alexander Street's PBS Video Collection and LGBT Studies in Video, which deliver informative streaming videos to add a unique layer of learning.
