Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Library Resources

Ask a Librarian

	Chat We are available to chat! Sorry, we are currently offline.
	Email refdesk@uwgb.edu
	Phone 920-465-2540

Library Resources & OER

The UW-Green Bay Libraries have many resources available to support classroom teaching. Below you will find a list of e-book and streaming video providers, licensed for use by UW-Green Bay students, staff, and faculty. While these resources do not fit the definition of Open Educational Resources, they are still a low cost option for providing classroom materials for your students. If you would like to use an e-book from the UW-Green Bay Libraries to replace a course text, please contact us so we can ensure access for the entire semester.

E-books

Ebook Central
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find e-books.
Please see our guide for important access info: https://libguides.uwgb.edu/ebook
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find e-books.
See our e-book guide for user information: https://libguides.uwgb.edu/ebook
Gale eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects. Find encyclopedias and other e-books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library's powerful delivery platform puts your reference content into circulation. Researchers will have the power to Search and share results, Create mark lists, Track research through search history, Share articles using InfoTrac InfoMarks® and more.
Brill E-book Collections This link opens in a new window
Full text e-books in the humanities and social sciences.
Browse e-books in a variety of subjects including Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Biology, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Materials and Surface Sciences, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy and Social Sciences.
Humanities E-Books (ACLS)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include humanities, area & cultural studies, art history, religion & philosophy, performing arts, folklore, and literary criticism. Find e-books.
Very Short Introductions
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include arts, humanities, reference material, healthcare, science, and social sciences. Find a broad overview of each topic covered in a short e-book format. Limit 5 simultaneous users.

Learn More About Our E-books

E-books @ UW-Green Bay Libraries
by Research Desk Last Updated Dec 22, 2023 53 views this year

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Find streaming video, documentaries, films, and film clips.
American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, biography, politics, world events. Find primary sources, streaming video content, and newsreels.
The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. Collection mainly consists of contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s.
Black Studies in Video (Alexander Street Press)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues. Find film and streaming video.
Alexander Street Press
Docuseek
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subjects. Find streaming video that can be embedded into courses or viewed online.
Films on Demand Master Academic (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find streaming video, film, clips, educational films, and documentaries.
A Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos anytime. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection.*If you cannot access a specific film title through Films on Demand, please search for that title in Search@UW (www.uwgb.edu/library). If you continue to experience difficulty accessing the film, contact the Research Desk at refdesk@uwgb.edu *

The Difference Between OER and AER

This work is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Text-only version

OER vs AER

OER, or Open Educational Resources, are free, openly available resources, published with either an Open License or in the public domain. They can be revised, remixed, reused, redistributed, and retained. Examples: open textbooks, syllabi, full courses, modules, games, or activities.

AER, or Affordable Educational Resources, are resources that are not openly license, but are available for no additional cost to students. They cannot be revised, remixed, reused, redistributed, and retained. Examples: YouTube videos, blogs, journal articles, ebooks from the Library, or digital courseware.

Both options save our students money!