Ask a Librarian
Search the Federal Register
- Federal RegisterFederal Register from 1994.
Browse by agency, topic, and date. Advanced search feature allows for a keyword search. HTML format (may be easier to read.)
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Federal Register from 1936
- Federal Register via GovInfo.govView proposed and final regulations, notices, obtain docket numbers. 1960-today. PDF format (official version).
- Code of Federal Regulations via GovInfo.govSubject arrangement of all regulations currently in effect.
Regulations.gov
- Regulations.govProposed regulations open for comment and related documents
On this site you can:
- Search for a regulation such as a proposed rule, final rule or Federal Register (FR) notice
- Submit a comment on a regulation or on another comment
- Submit an application, petition or adjudication document
- Sign up for e-mail alerts about a specific regulation
- Subscribe to RSS feeds by agency of newly posted FR notices
NOTE: This site is for currently pending regulations, not historical information
Federal Register Tutorial
Federal Register, the official newspaper of the U.S. government, was authorized by Congress in 1935 after the Supreme Court complained of the lack of a complete compilation of executive and administrative orders. It contains all presidential proclamations, executive orders, and federal agency regulations and proposed rules. It informs citizens of their rights and obligations, and it includes a listing of federal benefits and funding opportunities.
People read the Federal Register to learn about the daily operations of the federal government and how government actions are affecting health care, education, the environment, and other major issues.
- Understanding the Federal Register"This section ... is designed to help you gain a greater understanding of the Federal Register and the regulatory system that is a part of. The items in this section are not geared towards specific FederalRegister.gov features."
- Using FederalRegister.GovAids and tutorials to help you use the FederalRegister.Gov website.
Selected Reference Tools
Federal Regulatory Research: selected agency knowledge paths by
Provide your patrons with shortcuts to the legal research resources they need Federal Regulatory Research: Selected Agency Knowledge Paths presents sample pathfinders to help law librarians access and navigate the labyrinth of federal agency laws, regulations, interpretative releases, memoranda, and dockets. These "knowledge paths" represent the input of government, academic, and private law firm librarians with varied patron bases and institutional missions. The book provides access information to a wealth of quality sources, saving you the time--and trouble--of searching through endless hours of print and electronic resources. Federal Regulatory Research: Selected Agency Knowledge Paths identifies, describes, evaluates and locates the resources that busy attorneys and law students need to develop an organized approach to legal research. The book's contributors detail information found within a given resource (indexes, abstracts, catalogs), discussing entry and update factors that provide specific avenues of research, including: the United States Department of Education the United States Environmental Protection Agency the Federal Reserve System the Federal Trade Commission the United States Patent and Trademark Office the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and much more Federal Regulatory Research: Selected Agency Knowledge Paths is a vital resource for law librarians in their quest to provide patrons with research guidance on legal and regulatory subjects.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Federal Agencies and Commissions by
Encyclopedia of Federal Agencies and Commissions fills a gap that exists for an accessible reference to the federal bureaucracy of the United States government. A unique resource, it provides lucid and clearly written entries on all the branches of government and the agencies that function under them. These entries detail the history and the inner-workings of these agencies, as well as the role they play in the government as a whole. In addition to the entries, a glossary of bureaucratic terminology is included that will be of interest to students of political science, as well as appendixes containing organizational charts and contact information for each agency.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2004
For more information
Check out The Legislative Research Process guide for additional details on sources of regulatory information.