CINAHL Plus with Full Text, more commonly known as CINAHL, is one of the best databases for nursing research. It is designed for nursing and allied health professionals and has powerful search tools. You can limit results by various criteria, including date, subject, and type of research. In addition to full-text peer-reviewed articles, CINAHL has evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
Besides the link below, you can access CINAHL by clicking its name in the Finding Articles tab or from the Databases A-Z page on the library homepage.
Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find article, academic journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, consumer information, and more.
Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. Coverage: 1937-
CINAHL Basic Searching
To conduct a basic search in CINAHL, simply enter your keyword(s) into the search box and click Search. Then, refine your results using the tools in the left column of the results page. Here are some tips for best results:
Use the date slider to limit results to a particular date range, such as the most current 5 years.
For most college-level research, academic journals are the most appropriate source type.
In general, do not limit to "Full Text." Some articles are not available in CINAHL, but clicking the "Find It" button will lead you to the full text in another database or let you request a free copy.
CINAHL Advanced Searching: CINAHL/MeSH Headings
Sometimes a single concept can be described multiple ways, which can make it difficult to find all of the useful information on a particular topic. CINAHL Subject Headings account for differences in language and help you retrieve more relevant results. Learn more about how to use CINAHL Headings in the video below.