Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In-Class Activities

Finding Library Resources

Group One

Find a book in Search@UW on Laos refuges in the United States

Your group will share the steps you took to find your resource.  Be prepared to replicate your complete search process.  Please include how you would access the full text of the resource you found.

Group Two

Find an article in the database called America History & Life on Polish immigration to the United States

Your group will share the steps you took to find your resource.  Be prepared to replicate your complete search process.  Please include how you would access the full text of the resource you found.

Group Three

Find a video in the database called Films on Demand on Mexican immigration to the United States

Your group will share the steps you took to find your resource.  Be prepared to replicate your complete search process.  Please include how you would access the full-length film.

Group Four

Find an article or book chapter in the database called JSTOR on the Hmong American experience

Your group will share the steps you took to find your resource.  Be prepared to replicate your complete search process.  Please include how you would access the full text of the resource you found.

Group Five

Find a book in Search@UW on Norwegian Americans

Your group will share the steps you took to find your resource.  Be prepared to replicate your complete search process.  Please include how you would access the full text of the resource you found.

Group Six

Find a featured length newspaper article in Historical Newspapers: The New York Times on Somali Americans and immigration

Your group will share the steps you took to find your resource.  Be prepared to replicate your complete search process.  Please include how you would access the full text of the resource you found.

Continue Your Research

Directions

Working in pairs or independently, start to analyze the book, article, video, or other resource your group found by completing the worksheet below

  • Have the source you found open in a new window while completing the worksheet
  • The worksheet will prompt you to use additional resources to find more content
  • Be sure to keep the worksheet window open after you submit it so you can reference your responses during the discussion.