Skip to main content

ENG 424: Book Editing

Finding Articles

In addition to books, Search@UW contains articles, media, and our digital collections. As you can see in the infographic, Search@UW does not contain all of our articles. While it is a great place to start searching for articles, it should not be the only place you look. Try exploring our databases to find more specialized content for your topic.

What’s in Search@UW

Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more. Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW. Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections. Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of information.

Most often, in library terminology, this means an online collection of articles--scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles.

Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics. Other databases are more specialized and may focus on articles from a particular subject area such as business, history, or psychology.

Recommended Databases

Library Databases Tip: Find It Button

Tip: If you see a Find It! button like the one below, click on it to connect to the full text.
Find It! @ UW-Green Bay

If the article is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Click on the We can get it for you for free! (ILL & ILLiad) link to place request

Get Items from Other UW Libraries

Get Items from Other UW Libraries

Option 1: Requesting
Use Search@UW to find books, media and more by using the UW Libraries dropdown menu and entering your search terms.

Tip: sign in to your account right away to see all available request options

Click on the UW Request option under Get It (remember to sign in!) then click Submit

If the book you requested is unavailable, you will receive an email with alternative request options.

Once your item arrives at your campus library, you will be notified via email to pick up the item at your library’s main circulation desk.

Option 2: Visiting
If you find yourself near another UW Library, you are welcome to visit and check out items at that library using your UW-Green Bay ID

You don't have to travel back to that library to return your item, just drop it in your campus library’s book drop and we'll send it back.

Note: the item will not be officially 'returned' until it is checked in at the lending library.