Research Guides: PU EN AF 198: The Sixties: Home

Ask a Librarian

	Chat We are available to chat! Sorry, we are currently offline.
	Email refdesk@uwgb.edu
	Phone 920-465-2540

About this guide

This guide will help you find resources and information for your assignments in PU EN AF 198: The Sixties. This page shows databases where you can find different types of articles and books. The Identifying Scholarly Sources and Rate My Source pages will help you identify what kind of source you have found.

If you need help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab. For other questions about your assignment, consult with your professor.

Scholarly Articles

Search these databases for articles on topics related to The Sixties.

Other databases may also have good articles on your topic. For a full list of library databases, go to our Search by Subject page.

America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended! Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Coverage: 1954 -
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include women & gender studies, social justice issues, LGBTQ studies, and child & family studies. Find international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings.
The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Find scholarly and trade journals, articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.

Library Databases Tip: Find Full Text Button

Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.

If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.

Search@UW

Newspaper Articles

These databases contain newspaper articles published in the 1960s.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, news, and a wide range of topics. Find primary sources: the full text and full image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century.
Coverage from 1851 to present- most recent 3 years not available.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news, and more. Find primary sources and news.
1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies, news and more. Find news, commentary, advertisements, literature, drawings and photographs, and primary source material.
1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find citations to primary sources: popular, general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include genealogy, history, and culture. Contains Wisconsin newspaper coverage.
NewspaperARCHIVE includes fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns—from The Washington Post to the Stevens Point Gazette.Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700s and include titles from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom. Pages are reproduced in PDF format.Coverage: 1700s - (updates vary); varies by title