Finding Articles
In addition to books, Search@UW contains articles, media, and our digital collections. As you can see in the infographic, Search@UW does not contain all of our articles. While it is a great place to start searching for articles, it should not be the only place you look. Try exploring our databases to find more specialized content for your topic.
Referred to as a "discovery layer," Search@UW pulls content from existing resources into one convenient search interface.
Text version of infographic
What’s in Search@UW
Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more.
- Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW.
- Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections.
- Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information.
Most often, in library terminology, this means an online collection of articles--scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles.
Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics. Other databases are more specialized and may focus on articles from a particular subject area such as business, history, or psychology.
Recommended Databases
- Biographical DatabasesHere you will find databases to help you locate biographical information.
- Databases for Primary Source ResearchHere you will find library databases containing primary sources, including newspapers. Note: The Green Bay Gazette is now available at Brown County Library.
How to get full text articles
When you see a "Find full text" button, click it to access the full article. If the article isn’t immediately available, you'll be directed to a Search@UW record page. Sign in to your UW-Green Bay account and use the "Get it" button to request a digital copy through interlibrary loan.
Recommended Articles and Journals to Explore
- From Woodcraft to 'Leave No Trace': Wilderness, Consumerism, and Environmentalism in Twentieth-Century America by James Morton TurnerJames Morton Turner, Environmental History, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul., 2002), pp. 462-484 via JSTOR
- DDT on Trial: The Wisconsin Hearing, 1968-1969This article discusses a Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources hearing on the usage of dichloro-diphenyl-trichloro-ethane (DDT).
- Environmental HistoryEH carries international articles that portray human interactions with the natural world over time. Insights from history, geography, anthropology, the natural sciences, and many other disciplines are included.