Use Search@UW to Find Books
Introducing Search@UW
Referred to as a "discovery layer," Search@UW pulls content from existing resources into one convenient search interface.
What’s in Search@UW
Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more. Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW. Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections. Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!
Suggested Books From Our Collections
Consuming Nature by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2006In Consuming Nature, he tells of an early confrontation that set the stage for Silent Spring, pushing the dawn of environmental politics back several decades. Summers takes readers to Wisconsin's Fox River Valley more than fifty years ago to recount how technological and economic progress contributed to residents' growing opposition to the industrial pollution of the river
US Environmental History by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2012Environmental issues in the US are more important now than ever before. John Wills shows how the current crisis is firmly rooted in the past. As well as showing how today's problems are manifestations of older systems of economics, culture & politics, he argues that America has already witnessed a range of 'doomsday scenarios, ' both real & imagined.
Northeast and Midwest United States by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005An engaging, personalized look at the interplay between people and nature in the northeastern and midwestern United States, from prehistory to the present.
American Wilderness by
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2010This collected volume of original essays proposes to address the state of scholarship on the political, cultural, and intellectual history of Americans responses to wilderness from first contact to the present. While not bringing a synthetic narrative to wilderness, the volume will gather competing interpretations of wilderness in historical context.
Banning DDT by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2014On a December day in 1968, DDT went on trial in Madison, Wisconsin. In Banning DDT: How Citizen Activists in Wisconsin Led the Way, Bill Berry details how the citizens, scientists, reporters, and traditional conservationists drew attention to the harmful effects of "the miracle pesticide" DDT, which was being used to control Dutch elm disease
The Columbia Guide to American Environmental History by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2005How and why have Americans living at particular times and places used and transformed their environment? How have political systems dealt with conflicts over resources and conservation? This is the only major reference work to explore all the major themes and debates of the burgeoning field of environmental history.
A Companion to American Environmental History by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2010A Companion to American Environmental History gathers together a comprehensive collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history. Provides a complete historiography of American environmental history.First along the River: a Brief History of the U. S. Environmental Movement by
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2011First Along the River provides students with a balanced, historical perspective on the history of the environmental movement in relation to major social and political events in U.S. history, from the pre-colonial era to the present.
On the Hunt by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2008On the Hunt is the story of deer-hunting in Wisconsin, from the spear-throwing Paleo-Indians to the sportsmen of today. Meticulously researched by one of the state's most prolific outdoor writers, On the Hunt covers subsistence and sport hunting, deer camps, changing deer management policies, and recent developments and controversies, from human encroachment on deer habitat to CWDs.
A Storied Wilderness by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2011Storied Wilderness traces the complex history of human interaction with the Apostle Islands. The Apostle Islands are an ideal setting for telling the national story of how we came to equate human activity with the loss of wilderness characteristics when in reality all of our cherished wild places are the products of the complicated interactions between human and natural history.
Cut and Run Logging by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2002This fascinating book presents true-life photographic images of the loggers and the people they touched.
Protectors of the Land and Water by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1994Thomas Huffman traces the rise of environmentalism in the Badger State during these key years, when the people of Wisconsin instituted policies in such areas as outdoor recreation and resource planning, water pollution control, the preservation of wild rivers, and centralized environmental management.
Wisconsin's Past and Present by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1998The Atlas explores the history of indigenous cultures, immigrant groups, natural resources, agriculture, industries, boundaries, political and social movements, and government institutions in lively detail.
Wisconsin Land and Life by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1997This book, Wisconsin Land and Life, is an exploration of place, a series of original essays by Wisconsin geographers that offers an introduction to the state's natural environment, the historical processes of its human habitation, and the ways that nature and people interact to create distinct regional landscapes.
Get Items from Other UW Libraries
Use Search@UW to find books, media and more. Some items show "Request this item," which may mean that it is located at another library. You can request these items or visit another library to view them.
Option 1: Request an item
- sign in to your account all available request options. Click on the UW Request option under Get It then click Submit
- If the book you requested is unavailable, you will receive an email with alternative request options.
- Once your item arrives at your campus library, you will be notified via email to pick up the item at your library’s main circulation desk.
Option 2: Visit another library
If you find yourself near another UW Library, you are welcome to visit and check out items at that library using your UW-Green Bay ID.
You don't have to travel back to that library to return your item, just drop it in your campus library’s book drop and we'll send it back.
Note: the item will not be officially 'returned' until it is checked in at the lending library.