Skip to main content

HIST 220: American Environmental History

David Voelker

NoodleTools- Save & Cite Your Sources in APA, MLA, Chicago

NoodleTools NoodleTools is a resource you can use to gather citations to sources you are using for papers and projects.

You can make annotations and enter notes about these sources. Then you can format your sources into bibliographies using citation styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago.

To get started, go to NoodleTools and click on Register to sign up for an account. Access is limited to current UW-Green Bay students, faculty, and staff.

Using NoodleTools for APA Style

APA has released a new 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association in 2020. However, NoodleTools is not yet updated to the new rules. Check with your instructor to see if they will allow you to use 6th edition rules or if you need to update citations to the 7th edition by hand. Contact a librarian if you need help.

Chicago Citation Resources

For a complete list of specifics about Chicago style for both the reference list and in-text citations, please visit your campus library or visit the Research Help page to ask library staff for a copy of The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition. Use the links above for examples, tips, and further help.

Common Chicago Examples (Notes-Bibliography)

Note:

1. Author A. Surname, "Article Title," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page(s), DOI [or stable URL].

2. Surname, "Shortened Article Title," page(s).

 

1. Margaret Lock, “Comprehending the Body in the Era of the Epigenome,” Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (April 2015): 155,  https://doi.org/10.1086/680350.

2. Lock, "Comprehending the Body," 163.

 

Bibliography:

Surname, Author A. "Article Title." Title of Journal. Volume, no. Issue (Year): Pages. DOI [or stable URL].
 
Lock, Margaret. "Comprehending the Body in the Era of the Epigenome.” Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (April 2015): 151-77. https://doi.org/10.1086/680350.

Note:

1. Author A. Surname, Title of Book (City, State: Publisher, Year), page(s).

2. Surname, Shortened Title, page(s).

 

1. Atul Gawande, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End (London: Profile Books, 2014), 79-80

2. Gawande, Being Mortal, 191.

 

Bibliography:

Surname, Author A. Title of Book. City, State: Publisher, Year.
 
Gawande, Atul. Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End. London: Profile Books, 2014.

Note:

1. Author A. Surname, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book, ed. Editor E. Surname (City, State: Publisher, Year), page(s).

2. Surname, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s).

 

1. Ruth A. Miller, "Posthuman," in Critical Terms for the Study of Gender, ed. Catharine R. Stimpson and Gilbert Herdt (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014), 325

2. Miller, "Posthuman," 327.

 

Bibliography:

Surname, Author A. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor E. Surname, pages. City, State: Publisher, Year.
 
Miller, Ruth A. "Posthuman." In Critical Terms for the Study of Gender, edited by Catharine R. Stimpson and Gilbert Herdt, 320-327. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2014.

Note:

1. Author A. Surname, "Title of Web Page," Publishing Organization or Name of Website last modified Date [and/or accessed Date], URL.

2. Surname, "Shortened Page Title," Publishing Organization or Website.

 

1. J. Robert Lennon, “How Do You Revise?,” Ward Six (blog), September 16, 2010, http://wardsix.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-do-you-revise.html.

2. Lennon, "Revise," Ward Six.

 

Bibliography:

Surname, Author A. "Web Page Title." Publishing Organization or Name of Website. Last modified Date [and/or Accessed Date], URL.
 
Lennon, J. Robert. "How Do You Revise?.” Ward Six (blog). September 16, 2010. http://wardsix.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-do-you-revise.html.

*Citation examples taken from the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. and the Purdue Online Writing Lab*

Reminder

  • Always follow any modifications to Chicago Style provided by your instructor.

Notes-Bibliography Style

  • Notes indicate you are quoting, summarizing, or paraphrasing someone else's work or ideas.
  • When you cite a source, add a superscript number at the end of your sentence. This corresponds to a note with the same number at the bottom of the page (footnote style) or at the end of the paper (endnote style).
  • If you cite the same source more than once, use a shortened version of the note after the first time (see examples above).
  • Sources cited in a note should also be listed in your bibliography, in alphabetical order, using bibliography format (see examples above).

Notes (In-Text Citation) Resources