Research Guides: POL SCI 198: Politics in Sports: Articles

Library Databases: Search for Articles

SPORTDiscus
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include sports medicine, coaching & education, consumer health, nutrition, exercise science, health education, physical therapy, and all fields related to sports science. Find journals, academic and trade articles, and videos.
select coverage from 1930-present
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.
America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Coverage: 1954 -

Newspaper Articles: Current & Historical Info

The following library databases will contain articles from newspapers:

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include news and current events. Find comprehensive full text for major newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Coverage varies by title.
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include history, news, and a wide range of topics. Find primary sources: the full text and full image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century.
Coverage from 1851 to present- most recent 3 years not available.
US Newsstream
Subjects covered include news and current events. Find current and archival to 1980 U.S. news.
Includes The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune as well as over 80 Gannett titles.

Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.

If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.

Ask a Librarian

	Chat We are available to chat! Sorry, we are currently offline.
	Email refdesk@uwgb.edu
	Phone 920-465-2540

Comparing Article Sources

The UW-Green Bay Library databases include articles from several types of sources. This table can help you understand the different types of articles by comparing their characteristics.

	Scholarly Journals	Trade Publications	Magazines	Newspapers
Scholarly	Yes	No	No	No
Purpose	To advance knowledge in a field of study, often in the form of original research or analysis	To discusses current trends, news and products in a specific field	To inform, entertain, or persuade on a variety of topics	To inform, entertain, or persuade regarding news and current events
Format	Lengthy articles with abstracts, methods, results, conclusions, and bibliography	Medium-length articles	Short and sometimes medium-length articles	Short articles
Authors	Scholars, professors, or researchers in the field	Staff, scholars, professionals in the field, or freelance writers with subject expertise	Publication's staff or freelance writers	Publication's staff, newswires, freelance writers, or syndicated columnists
Language	Terminology and jargon of the field	Appropriate for an educated readership	Generally simple language	Generally simple language
Audience	Scholars, professors, researchers, college students	Professionals in a particular industry	General public	General public
Graphics	Graphics, charts, and photographs included to convey information	Photographs, illustrations, charts, and tables; may be informative or decorative	Photographs, illustrations, drawings, charts and advertisements	Photographs, illustrations, drawings, and charts, and advertisements
Sources	Always include in-text citations with reference lists at the end	Occasional short reference lists	Rarely lists sources; information often comes from interviews	Rarely lists sources; information often comes from interviews
Examples	Nature, The New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of Communication, Computers & Education	Adweek, Social Work Today, Minority Nurse, Industrial Engineer	Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, Popular Science	New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Green Bay Press-Gazette

Comparing Types of Sources (Printer-friendly)
Download a PDF handout version of this page.