Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What is Search@UW?

About this guide

This guide will help you help you understand and use Search@UW, the main search tool of UW-Green Bay Libraries. You can get to Search@UW on the Libraries' homepage or at the bottom of this page.

If you need more help with library search tools and resources, just click on the Research Help tab.

Introducing Search@UW

Referred to as a "discovery layer," Search@UW pulls content from existing resources into one convenient search interface.

What’s in Search@UW

Search@UW contains millions of resources including all UW System Libraries collections, digital collections, database articles and more. Books and Media: You will find over 16 million items from UW System Libraries in Search@UW. Digital Collections: Find items from UW Digital Collections. Articles: You will find the majority of our articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in Search@UW. This is not the only place to look. Try searching in our databases as well!

When to use Search@UW

Use Search@UW when you want to:

  • Find books and articles using one search;
  • Do a broad, multidisciplinary search;
  • Use a variety of information sources; or
  • Want books or media owned by UW-Green Bay or other UW System libraries.

If you want to do a focused search in a particular discipline, choose a database instead. If you want a book that is not owned by UWGB or another UW System Library, use ILLiad to request it.

Start searching now