Ask a Librarian
Finding Articles
Search@UW, which is available on the UW-Green Bay Libraries homepage, is a popular starting point for finding articles. It searches most of the articles that are available to UW-Green Bay students, as well as books, DVDs, streaming videos, and more.
For in-depth research, subject-specific databases are preferred. In library terminology, a database is an online collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and/or newspapers. Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics, while others are more focused in scope.
Databases have sophisticated tools for refining your searches that aren't available in Google or Google Scholar. For example, CINAHL has options to include only articles that are peer-reviewed, evidence-based, and/or are about a particular patient age group or gender.
The databases most relevant to nursing and health care are listed below. You can find additional databases on the UW-Green Bay Libraries homepage by clicking on Databases.
Nursing & Healthcare Databases
- CINAHL Plus With Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended! Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find articles, academic journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, consumer information, and more. - Clinical Key This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include nursing, healthcare, medicine, nutrition, and other medical specialties. Find books, academic journals, articles, educational resources, and clinical overviews.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and related fields. Find scholarly articles including case studies, clinical trials, meta-analyses, review articles, and editorial content.
