Research Guides: ENG 335: Literary Eras-Gender and Modernism: Finding Sources

Beginning Your Search

To find sources for your assignments, you can either use Search@UW or one of our subject specific databases. You can find recommendations for databases below.

Search@UW - Search Books, Articles and More

Search@UW

When to use Search@UW

Use Search@UW when you want to:

Find books and articles using one search;
Do a broad, multidisciplinary search;
Use a variety of information sources; or
Want books or media owned by UW-Green Bay or other UW System libraries.

If you want to do a focused search in a particular discipline, choose a database instead. If you want a book that is not owned by UWGB or another UW System Library, use ILLiad to request it.

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of information.

Most often, in library terminology, this means an online collection of articles--scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles.

Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics. Other databases are more specialized and may focus on articles from a particular subject area such as business, history, or psychology.

Recommended Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended!
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include humanities, arts, and social sciences. Find academic journal articles & books.
Coverage 1995 -

GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended!
Subjects covered include women & gender studies, social justice issues, LGBTQ studies, and child & family studies. Find international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings.
The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include women and gender studies and aspects of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education as they relate to women & gender. Find articles, scholarly and trade journals, reviews, books & book chapters, and reports.
Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Find scholarly articles, books & book chapters, and editorial content.
Coverage: 1926 to the present.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include poetry, creative writing, literature and language, and reference. Find poems, short stories, reference works, analyses, reviews, books, and book chapters.
Gale Literature (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects include literature, language, book reviews, criticism, and more. Find journal articles, book chapters, reviews, and reference works.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include literature, literary criticiasm, and general humanities. Find reference works, monographs, classic books and anthologies, and literary journals.
Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios); 450 literary journals; more than 693,000 book reviews; more than 78,400 classic and contemporary poems; more than 19,700 classic and contemporary short stories; more than 6,600 author interviews; more than 8,200 classic texts; and much more.

In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™ and much more.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include literature, literary criticism, and general humanities. Find a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - online format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.

Library Databases Tip: Find Full Text Button

Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.

If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.