Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 217: Introduction to American Literature II

Nichole LaGrow

Getting Started

Below you will find a list of databases recommended for finding book reviews for your selected work. Follow the steps below to help you narrow down your search to find a contemporary book review for your selected work. 

 

 

1. Select a Database 

As you begin your search, make sure you select a database that corresponds to the time period of your chosen work. For example, if you are looking for a review of Uncle Tom's Cabin, which was published in 1853, you won't find a contemporary review using the database, Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982. Read the description of the database first to check. If you aren't sure, navigate to the Research Help page of this guide to get help from a librarian. 

2. Search Terms

Use the name of the book as a search term. 

3. Limit by Source Type

Use the filters to limit to by source type to "reviews." Depending on the database you use, you might find this option in an area labeled "resource type," "document type," or something similar. Sometimes you have to go the the "advanced search" option in the database to do this. 

4. Limit by Publication Date

Use the filters to limit your results to the correct time period. Give your search a little room. If your book was published in 1850, you could try limiting results from 1850-1860. Double check to make sure the review you select is from the year of the book's publication. 

5. Try a Different Database

If you don't find what you are looking for at first, try a different database from the list! 

6. Still Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

If you are still struggling to find a review, navigate to the research help page of this guide to connect with a librarian who can help you. 

Example Search

decorative image

Recommended Databases