Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA Citation Resources
MLA Handbook, which replaces the 8th edition. Resources for both versions will be kept on this page throughout the Fall 2021 semester. Information that pertains to a specific edition is labelled appropriately.
MLA recently published the 9th edition of the
Walks you through the process of formatting citations and reference lists. Sign in with your UWGB credentials. Access is limited to current UW-Green Bay students, faculty, and staff.
MLA Style Center 9th
The official companion to the MLA Handbook. Includes a quick guide to works cited, FAQs, sample papers, and tips for formatting your research paper.
MLA Style: Excelsior College Online Writing Lab 8th & 9th
Gives detailed information on formatting of MLA papers, in-text citations, and works cited. Use the side menu to navigate to the information you need.
UWGB Writing Center Citation Guides 8th
This page contains handouts with general guidelines and examples for APA and MLA citation styles. The UW-Green Bay Writing Center is located at the Green Bay campus on the plaza level/2nd floor of the Cofrin Library, Tel: 920-465-2338.
For a complete list of specifics about MLA Style for both the reference list and in-text citations, please see the MLA Handbook. Use the links above for examples, tips, and further help.
MLA Handbook, 8th ed.
Call Number: Click title to check availability
From the Modern Language Association, this citation style is typically used in the arts and humanities. This 8th edition was published in 2016.
MLA Handbook, 9th Edition
Call Number: Coming soon!
From the Modern Language Association, this citation style is typically used in the arts and humanities. This 9th edition was published in 2021.
Example Works-Cited-List Entries
These examples are for MLA Handbook, 8th Edition (2016).
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of
Journal, vol. Volume, no. Number, Year, pp. Pages. Name of Database,
Goldman, Anne. “Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading
Dante.” The Georgia Review, vol. 64, no. 1, 2010, pp. 69-88. JSTOR,
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.
Gillespie, Paula, and Neal Lerner. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Peer
Tutoring. Allyn and Bacon, 2000.
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter." Title of Book.
edited by Editor(s), Publisher, Year, pp. Pages.
Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." A
Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, Heinemann, 2000, pp.
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website,
"Athlete's Foot - Topic Overview." WebMD, 25 Sept. 2014,
*Citation examples taken from the MLA Handbook, 8th ed. and the Purdue Online Writing Lab*
- Always follow any modifications to MLA Style provided by your instructor.
- In-text, or parenthetical, citations indicate you are quoting, summarizing, or paraphrasing someone else's work or ideas.
- In-text citations should correspond to a source on your works cited page to help your reader find the original source used.
- Placement depends on how you incorporate a source into your writing - there is more than one correct way to cite in-text.
In-Text Citation Resources