Research Guides: MNT HISTORY 102: Foundations of Western Culture II: Home

Ask a Librarian

	Chat We are available to chat! Sorry, we are currently offline.
	Email refdesk@uwgb.edu
	Appointment Book a consultation

About this guide

This guide will assist you in finding resources for your family ancestry research paper using Search@UW to find books, articles, and other resources. Use the navigation menu to find tips for searching the catalog and information on how to request items from all UW System libraries to be picked up at the Marinette Campus library. Start searching for resources using the Search@UW box below or learn more about the search process from the links on the left.

Searching Strategies

Consider searching for:

your ancestor's country or region of origin
- economic conditions
- political conditions
- social conditions
the time period when your ancestor immigrated to America (i.e. nineteenth century)
a specific historical event
a specific historical person (i.e. ruler/king)

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
Includes more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including 9000+ peer-reviewed journals. Coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
America: History & Life with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Librarian recommended! Subjects covered include history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada. Find academic journals, books & book chapters, regional publications, and reviews.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Coverage: 1954 -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles as well as e-books. Coverage varies by title but ranges from the 1800s to the 2010s.