D. Gordon - Guide to Library Resources & Research Help
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2013
This guide will help you gather sources for your Researched Argument paper.
For your paper, you need to support your claims using at least four high quality secondary sources and a primary source. You can gather many of your secondary sources by using this guide.
Secondary sources for this assignment include:
- peer-reviewed journal articles
- in-depth articles from periodicals such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Atlantic Monthly, National Review, and The Nation
- high quality Internet sources (Google Scholar, Google Books, usa.gov)
- reliable general interest websites (cnn.com, usatoday.com, webmd.com).
From Cofrin Library, you have access to around 200,000 books, media & other materials. Search here to find books & media owned by Cofrin Library. Remember that there may not be books & media on all specific topics.
WorldCat is a library catalog that lists over 1.5 billion books, media and other materials from over 70,000 libraries worldwide.
Many of these items you can have sent to you here at UWGB for free.
As you search, click on the red Find It button and sign in to request the book/library item. We will e-mail you when your item(s) get delivered to UWGB for pick-up.
Search Google Books to find relevant materials on the topic you are researching. Many of the books will only give a "limited preview." Use the UWGB Cofrin Library catalog or WorldCat to locate a full copy of the books you are interested in.
Search the library's databases below to gather articles on your topic. For a full list of databases, go to the Databases by Subject page.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Large multi-disciplinary database with articles from many subject areas.
Scholarly content that spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
- CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues.
- Project Muse
High quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. Coverage: 1995 -
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Includes CURRENT access to The New York Times. Read articles from thousands of newspapers and magazines from all over the world.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Collection of articles from over 1,000 newspapers, plus transcripts of TV & radio broadcasts.
- Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) (Proquest)
Historical Newspapers-The New York Times has full text and full image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides robust, quality research in areas related to communication and mass media.
- Sociological Abstracts (Proquest)
A primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- GenderWatch (Proquest)
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Articles from business-related magazines, newspapers, and journals.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Proquest)
Scholarly articles on political science topics from a global perspective.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Covers the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Try searching for articles on your topic from the following periodicals (magazines & newspapers):
Library Tip: When searching in a database, if you do not see a link to the copy of an article, click on the Find-It button. This will search our resources to locate an online copy.
If no online copy is available, you will be directed to our interlibrary loan page where you can place a request for the article.
Is my article from a scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal, a trade publication, magazine, or newspaper? This handout explains:
Scholarly (or academic) sources include peer-reviewed journal articles and books published by academic presses. This video explains:
This guide has tips on evaluating information:
Google Scholar searches for academic articles and books. Keep in mind, Google Scholar will not always provide free access to the information you are seeking. Ask the library if you need help.