This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "EDUC 314/325: Teaching Science in the Elementary/Middle/Secondary School" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDUC 314/325: Teaching Science in the Elementary/Middle/Secondary School   Tags: course guide spring 2011  

Professor Scott Ashmann
Last Updated: Dec 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwgb.edu/educ314-325 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IMC Materials

Books and Materials in the Cofrin Library's Instructional Materials Collection:

Searching the Cofrin Library Catalog

Limit to the IMC collection and do a keyword search for "science" and teaching to retrieve call numbers to over 400 books and other items (many in the instructional materials collection on the 4th floor of the library) that may be of interest and are owned by the Cofrin Library.

 

Journals

All journals and magazines are located in the periodical area on the library's fourth floor. They are arranged in alphabetical order by the first letter of the first word. Note that a couple of the journals listed below are available online in full text. All of the journals can be searched using Academic Search Complete from EbscoHost/ERIC (link on the right). This is useful to pinpoint an article on your topic in a print only journal with a keyword search, instead of having to flip through all of the issues.

Title: Science Activities
Location: Academic Search Complete
Full Text 1990 – Present
Peer Reviewed

Science Scope (Middle School Focus)
Location: Periodical Area
Sept. 2003 -- present
Indexed in ERIC

Title: Science Teacher
Location: Periodical Area
Current 3 year in Print
1961 – Current on Microfilm

Phi Delta Kappan
Location: Periodical Area
1974-present
Academic Search Complete
Full Text 1994-present

Science and Children
Location: Periodical Area
1970- present

School Science and Mathematics
Location: Periodical Area
current 3 years

Journal of Research in Science Teaching
Location: Periodical Area
1963- present

 

Article Databases

Journal Articles from Scholarly / Peer Reviewed Publications and Popular Magazines
You will need to enter your campus username and password in order to access the online databases from off campus.

  • ERIC from EBSCOhost
    Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.Coverage: 1967 -
  • Education Full Text (Wilson)
    Description : Provides indexing and abstracting of 400 international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information technology. Coverage: 1983
  • Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.Academic Search Complete from EbscoHostcontains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.

Articles to be used in the Classroom

  • Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)
    Middle Search Plus, designed specifically for middle school libraries, contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritageď˝® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.Coverage: 1984 -

Newspapers

  • New York Times Learning Network
  • Academic Universe provides access to nearly 5,000 publication on a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.Coverage: 1990 -
  • Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts. Coverage varies by title.
David A. Cofrin Library
University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2303 | Toll Free: 888-729-4611 | Email: refdesk@uwgb.edu
Support Wisconsin Libraries: Keep Us All in a Better State
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip