This is the "Books" page of the "Education 495 Contemporary Issues in Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education 495 Contemporary Issues in Education  

C. Leuthner
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uwgb.edu/edu495 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & Media @ UWGB - Cofrin Library Catalog

From Cofrin Library, you have access to around 200,000 books, media & other materials. Search here to find books & media owned by Cofrin Library. Remember that there may not be books & media on all specific topics.

 
Catalog Quick Search:
Find Words In:
 

Books & Media from Other Libraries - WorldCat

WorldCatWorldCat is a library catalog that lists over 1.5 billion books, media and other materials from over 70,000 libraries worldwide.

Many of these items you can have sent to you here at UWGB for free.

As you search, click on the red Find It button and sign in to request the book/library item. We will e-mail you when your item(s) get delivered to UWGB for pick-up. 

 

Books & Media @ Other UW Libraries

UW LibrariesYou can visit any UW campus library and check out materials from there with your UWGB ID card. When you are finished, you can return materials back to its home library or at UWGB and we will send them back for you. You can also search for books and library materials in the entire UW library system:

 

  1. From the UWGB Cofrin Library catalog, click on: Search Other Library Catalogs.
  2. Checkmark the libraries you wish to search, or choose: Check All.
  3. Click on the Continue button.
  4. Search for the materials you would like to find.

For students that cannot visit individual UW campuses, it is best to search for library materials in WorldCat (see above).

 

Google Books

Search Google Books to find relevant materials on the topic you are researching. Many of the books will only give a "limited preview." Use the UWGB Cofrin Library catalog, UW Libraries catalog, or WorldCat to locate the full copy of the books you are interested in.




 

Background Information, Key Terms, and Concepts

Encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries are useful for gathering introductory and background information to a topic. These reference books will introduce you to key terms and concepts. These may be found in the Reference Collection o the library's 3rd floor.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of curriculum studies - Craig Kridel, editor
Call Number: REF LB2806.15 .E48 2010
ISBN: 1412958830
Key themes: biography and prosopography; concepts and terms; content descriptions; influences on curriculum studies; inquiry and research; nature of curriculum studies; organizations, schools, and projects; publications; theoretical perspectives; types of curricula.

Cover Art
Early childhood education : an international encyclopedia - edited by Rebecca S. New and Moncrieff Cochran
Call Number: REF LB1139.23 .E272 2007
ISBN: 0313331006
Aiming this work at students, policy analysts, and general readers, editors New (Tufts Univ.) and Cochran (Cornell) have assembled more than 300 international contributors to produce an encyclopedia of both breadth and depth. The first three volumes contain over 300 A-to-Z entries on early childhood development and education in the United States that cover major historical and contemporary issues, current research, and a variety of theoretical and policy perspectives.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American education - ed. Harlow G. Unger
Call Number: REF LB17 .U54 2007
ISBN: 0816068879
The only comprehensive reference to the development and present state of American education, Encyclopedia of American Education, Third Edition contains more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. This authoritative three-volume reference provides a wealth of up-to-date information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of education - James W. Guthrie, editor in chief
Call Number: REF LB15 .E47 2003
ISBN: 002865594X
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

Cover Art
World education encyclopedia : a survey of educational systems worldwide - Rebecca Marlow-Ferguson, editor
Call Number: REF LB15 .W87 2002
ISBN: 0787655775
This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.

 
David A. Cofrin Library
University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2303 | Toll Free: 888-729-4611 | Email: refdesk@uwgb.edu
Support Wisconsin Libraries: Keep Us All in a Better State
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip