This is the "Home --About the Census" page of the "Census Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Census Information   Tags: census, demographics, housing, population, statistics, united states, wisconsin  

understanding how to find and use census information.
Last Updated: Dec 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwgb.edu/census Print Guide RSS Updates

Home --About the Census Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is the U.S. Federal Census?

American Facfinder logo Beginning in 1790 as required by law,  the U.S. federal government began conducting  a decennial  census, or count of the population, every 10 years.  The purpose was to fairly distribute Congressional representation and taxation among the states, which remains its primary purpose to this day. Other questions regarding various social aspects of our society vary from census to census, are not necessarily required, and are only asked of a sample of the population.

In addition to the Census of Population and Housing,  other types of censuses conducted by the federal government at various times are agriculture, manufacturing, retail trade, wholesale trade, transportation and government.  For some years these were included in with the Census of Population and Housing.  More recently though, they are done at seperate times, usually in years ending in 2 or 7. 

Individual states have also conducted censuses at various times, including Wisconsin. Typically, state censuses were initially done to determine statehood eligibility and usually were not done after the early 1900s.

A unique census that helps researchers in many fields and for many purposes are school censuses.  Typically, these are conducted annually within a school district and record names, actual birthdates, and parents' names.  The Archives department holds these for many northeastern Wisconsin schools, most notably Brown County.

Another type of census is the Native American Census rolls conducted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.  Unlike the federal census, the data is not restricted for 72 years.  Data in this type of census includes name, reservation, actual residence, family members, birthdates, and blood quantum.  In many instances, this census data was annotated years after the original census was recorded thereby providing updated vital records information. 

 

Information available

Statistical compilations of data from the census are released to the public, although it may take considerable time for this to happen.  For example, the government is still compiling and releasing data from the 2010 census 2 years after it occurred.

The other type of information released is the original census manuscripts that record information about individuals.  This type of information is eagerly sought after by family history researchers, scholars, and genealogists.  There is a 72 year freeze on the release of personal information from the census.  Also, for small geographic areas  even statistical data may be withheld from publication to protect the privacy of the individuals involved.  Earlier census publications were of course done in paper, while in the latter half of the 20th century, microfiche and then cd-rom formats were used, with current statistics  available electronically  on the Bureau of the Census website.  Our statistical compilations from before 1900 are held in our Archives Department.  Statistical publications from 1900 to 2000 are in our 5th floor U.S. Government Publications Collection.

 

Foreign Country Census Data

Most foreign countries do conduct censuses, but most are not as frequent or detailed as the U.S. Federal Census. The United Nations Demographic Yearbook  and the United Nations Statistical Yearbook will help you get a sense of how much census data exists and its currency.

 

Genealogy/Family History Researchers

There is a 72 year moratorium on the release of personal information from the census. Researchers around the globe are eagerly looking forward to the release of the 1940 census on April 2, 2012.  The 1940 census will not be indexed upon its initial release.  It will be browseable by geographic locations but not searchable by individual names. Volunteers will begin indexing names immediately, but there is no target date for completion of the index.

Earlier censuses originally existed in 3 versions, a local (county) copy, a state copy, and a federal copy.  The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the custodian of the federal copies, which they have microfilmed.  Many state archives have the copy for their state, either on microfilm or manuscript.  The local copies rarely survived, but our Archives Department has some of these for Brown County.  Although the content should be identical, there may be slight variations between the 3 versions.

It may also help to check multiple electronic versions, since the indexing or images may be clearer in one or the other. Remember also that the majority of the 1890 census was destroyed in a fire.

 

For more information about the 1940 census see http://www.census.gov/1940census/index.html 

To get started with the 1940 census visit http://1940census.archives.gov/ 

For help in determing your census tract or ed number for a locality, use the finding ads on Steve Morse's website at http://stevemorse.org/ 

Electronic databases for census information about individuals

  • Ancestry Library  Icon
    This is the LIBRARY edition, which is not identical to the version available to personal subscribers.
  • HeritageQuest Online (Proquest)  Icon
    Contains census records, Freedman Bank records, the PERSI index to genealogical peridoicals, and numerous county histories and other historical works.
  • Family Search  
      
    has many state censuses and other civil records. This site is free.
David A. Cofrin Library
University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2303 | Toll Free: 888-729-4611 | Email: refdesk@uwgb.edu
Support Wisconsin Libraries: Keep Us All in a Better State
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip