Ask a Librarian
Recommended Article Databases
The following databases will contain articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) business journals, business magazines and newspapers, and some general-interest magazines and newspapers.
- One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Find articles, news, company reports, industry reports, videos, and ebooks. - Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Find articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, and country reports.
What type of article to you need?
| Source | Visual Characteristics | Author(s) | Purpose | Audience | Examples |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Magazines |
brief to medium length articles; no bibliography; extensive advertising | written by journalists or staff writers; reviewed by an editor | to inform, persuade, or entertain depending on audience | general public; special interest | Time; Newsweek; Psychology Today; GQ; Glamour |
Trade Publications |
brief to medium length articles; may contain references | written by staff writers, professionals, or experts in a profession or trade | to inform or report on industry news, trends, products, etc. | professionals within a field such as marketing, human resources, teaching, etc. | Harvard Business Review, HR Magazine (SHRM), Marketing News (AMA) |
Scholarly Journals |
long articles with a methodology, discussion and conclusion; abstract; language is specialized to field; contains a long list of references | written by scholars or experts in a field; peer-reviewed | to inform, present original research, and communicate formally with other scholars | scholars, researchers, and experts in a field | Strategic Management Journal, Journal of Management, Journal of Business Research |
Select the right type of article
In Business Source Complete, select checkboxes under Source Types.
In ABI/INFORM, click More under Source Type and select checkboxes under Include.
Library Databases Tip: Find Full Text Button
Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.
If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.
