Ask a Librarian
Databases
Try searching in one or more of the databases below to gather research articles on your topic. Although you can also use Search@UW to find articles, databases have more advanced search features.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowLibrarian recommended! The National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical literature. Find scholarly articles including case studies, clinical trials, meta-analyses, review articles, and editorial content.
- CINAHL Plus With Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, consumer health, nutrition, and nursing specialties. Find article, academic journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, consumer information, and more. - SPORTDiscus
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include sports medicine, coaching & education, consumer health, nutrition, exercise science, health education, physical therapy, and all fields related to sports science. Find journals, academic and trade articles, and videos.
Find It! button for full text in databases
Tip: If you see a Find full text button, click on it to connect to the full text.
If the article is not immediately available, you'll be taken to a Search@UW page with "Request this item." Use the "Request a PDF (1-3 days)" link to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.
Major journals
In addition to searching for journal articles in the databases, here is a selection of key journals relating to nutrition and dietetics. You can browse issues or search within each journal.
- The American Journal of Clinical NutritionOriginal research on topics in nutrition, such as obesity, vitamins and minerals, nutrition and disease, and energy metabolism
- Clinical NutritionFocuses on nutritional and metabolic care and the relationship between nutrition and disease both in the setting of basic science and clinical practice
- The Journal of NutritionIncludes original research papers covering all aspects of experimental nutrition in humans and other animal species; plus special articles and issues, opinions, and commentaries on controversial issues in nutrition
- Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and DieteticsCovers research in nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education
- Critical Reviews in Food Science and NutritionCritical viewpoints on current technology, food science, and human nutrition. UWGB does not subscribe to this title, but some articles are available open access and others can be requested via ILL.
- Advances in NutritionLiterature reviews focused on key findings and recent research in all areas of interest to nutritional scientists and biomedical researchers. UWGB does not subscribe to this title, but some articles are available open access and others can be requested via ILL.
Download LibKey for full text on the web
LibKey Nomad is automatically installed on UW-Green Bay computers in Edge and Chrome. To add it to your personal computer:
- Go to Download LibKey Nomad.
- Select your browser. LibKey Nomad is currently available for Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari, Brave, and Vivaldi.
- Follow your browser's prompts to install the extension.
- After it is installed, search for and select UW-Green Bay Libraries as your organization.
Connect Google Scholar to UW-Green Bay Libraries
If you are on-campus, Google Scholar should already include links to UW-Green Bay Libraries content.
Off-campus users will need to follow these steps to set this up:
- Go to the Google Scholar website: https://scholar.google.com/
- Under the menu icon in the upper-left, select Settings
- Choose Library Links, type in UW-Green Bay, and search
- Check the UW-Green Bay Box and click Save
You have now connected content from UW-Green Bay Libraries to Google Scholar!
When searching in Google Scholar, look for the Find It @ UWGB link to see if UW-Green Bay Libraries provide access to the content. Sometimes you will need to click on the "more" link at the end of an entry OR "all versions" to see the link.
